We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best price in town. Still has a home quality not found much”
Review of Thunder Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunder Cove Hotel
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best price in town. Still has a home quality not found much”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This quiet little hotel offers clean basic rooms. A nice gift shop and location. The trolly pulls up out front $1 a dollar takes off to down town. When you have had your fill of gambling you can come back to this peaceful little place. Not much for services here. I don't believe they have a 24 hour desk but there are several food chains within walking distance. Customer service is very good and price for a resort town is outstanding. I love coming here for an impromptu mini vacation. My only regret no low carb choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
29
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shelby twp mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The inn has an excellent location, that is central to many of the attractions in the Black Hills. The owner is very pleasant and helpful. She helped a lot with suggestions and directions. It's very clean. The breakfast was simple but tasty and healthy. The coffee is to die for. She takes high quality beans and grinds them just before brewing. If we are back in the area, we'll stay here again! Very highly recommended.
Dr. and Mrs.Garg

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor,Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location in Deadwood. About 1 mile from the franklin downtown but the trolley comes around every 20 minutes for $1 each. Very clean hotel. Comfortable king bed. Mini fridge in room. Owners are so nice and informative of the area. Highly recommend if looking for a nice, clean, affordable room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. Staff bends over backwards to accommodate. Rooms are big, clean, have a refrigerator and a recliner. Trolley stops at the front door every twenty minutes to downtown. Prices are very reasonable and include breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colo.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were in town for the marathon, and waited until the last minute to book our rooms - the bigger hotels in the center of town were all booked up, and ridiculously overpriced. I found this place using AAA, and what a pleasant surprise. The motel is steps away from the shuttle, which runs every 30 minutes or so. Downtown Deadwood at night can be overrun with boisterous drunks and crowded. This place is about 2 miles away from all of that, but still close enough that you get the feel of the town's history. It's a motel, circa 1966, and quite kitschy . . . but it's a gem. The staff were quite simply bend-over-backward fantastic. We got caught in a bad storm driving in and were concerned our arrival would be later than 9 p.m. (they don't have a 24-hour desk). We called and the owner stayed late to accommodate our arrival. The room was clean with adequate space with some of the features associated with your bigger chains. All in all, just a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay here. Rents had been increased because of Wild Bill Hickok celebrations, but owner very kindly reduced it for us as we booked 3 days. We had arrived early, had not booked, but the lady in charge sent 3 maids to get the room ready for us to use when we returned from the supermarket. They were very busy as the accommodation in and around Deadwood was booked up, because of the celebrations. Lovely room with a rocking chair as well and a great breakfast in the morning. There was a staff member in the breakfast room at all times who would enquire if we had everything we needed. Shuttle tram picks up right outside motel every 20 minutes to down town with various stops to suit for $1, so you can leave your car in the motel car park and not struggle to find a space in Deadwood. A great place to stay which we have noted in our travel diary for another day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great motel....you will not be disappointed when staying here! Shuttle service every 30minutes
To down town Deadwood.
The property is very well taken care of, rooms very clean....great coffee and breakfast items.
This was our second stay here, and we will return!

Room Tip: I believe any of the rooms would be very good....very clean.....we had a south king bed Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugt2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Black Hills Inn & Suites
Black Hills Inn & Suites
#24 of 24 in Deadwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deadwood Dick's
Deadwood Dick's
#20 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickok House
Best Western Hickok House
#19 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#9 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Cove Hotel

Property: Thunder Cove Hotel
Address: 315 Cliff St, Deadwood, SD 57732-5100 (Formerly Thunder Cove Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunder Cove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1995, the Thunder Cove Hotel is a Modern, Non-Smoking Hotel and was voted 'Best Value in Deadwood'. The City Trolley to Downtown stops by our front door every 20 minutes. We are located in the Historic town of Deadwood, S.D., Only 1 mile to the historic district, take the City trolley downtown for $1. Across the street is the Mickelson Trail for snowmobiling, hiking and biking in the Black Hills. All of our rooms have free Wi-Fi, Over-sized Refridgerators and Microwaves and Flat Screen TV's in all our rooms. We realize when coming to the Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota you have many choices for Hotels and value that you have chosen us. Our customers are all very important people to us, and are our #1 priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thunder Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing