We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Sheldon, IA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great atmospheric hotel if you want to stay right in the middle of Deadwood and avoid all the chain hotels. Our room was clean and comfortable, really nicely designed and decorated, with big windows and a large beautiful bathroom. Staying here will give you a taste of the past and a sense of the regional history, and that was what we were looking for in Deadwood. Also, the price is right. It's a little expensive, but after we checked prices at the nearby chain motels, we discovered that we could get better rooms in a much more distinctive hotel for almost the same price--maybe a little more, but it's worth it. I totally recommend Hickok's, and will stay there again next time I'm in Deadwood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We definitly pride ourselves on having the best hotel rooms in Deadwood and we're glad you had a great experience!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next stop in Deadwood! Hopefully next time, you can enjoy our restaurant for the best overall experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

in an historic city! The staff is more than helpful. The suites are roomy. The beds are comfortable. This was my third stay here; that speaks for itself! There is no noise from the main street despite a location on a busy corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are certainly glad you make Hickok's your place to stay while you're in Deadwood! Thank you for the review!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent location. First class front desk manager Coti was great. It was a very unique old western hotel. The rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. Our bathroom even had a jacuzzi!! Each room is very different according to Coti. We specifically asked for non-smoking rooms and wanted 2 rooms close together and she was able to give us 2 queen bedded rooms across the hall from each other. There are king rooms also, but we reserved our rooms late and they weren't available. They offered free parking in the city garage. Downtown is only 3 blocks long, so you don't need a car to get around. The casino is typical of other hotels we found on Main Street. The location was at the south end of the strip, but again, easy to walk to everything. The hotel restaurant was having some issues. There was a long wait because they didn't staff properly, but once seated the waiter (Billy) was great and the food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is not included, but we walked to the Iron Horse Inn right behind our hotel and ate at the Wooden Nickel Cafe, which was great. This town was definitely a highlight of our trip through the Dakotas. We most definitely recommend staying here and wish we had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! Coti is definitly a keeper:) She does an excellent job as our hotel manager and we're glad she took great care of you!

We're glad you had a terrific stay in Deadwood and hopefully you'll come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My dad and I stayed for 2 nights and had 2 great nights' sleep. The beds were extremely comfortable, like clouds. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. There were only a few downsides. The first is that we unknowingly booked a smoking room which was horrible for my allergies. Luckily the room and sheets are so well cleaned between guests that they held no stench. One thing that might have helped would have been the ability to open the windows, even if only a few inches. The only other thing I would have liked in our room would be a list of all the tv channels. Being from out of state and not having a list made it difficult to find the channels we liked.
Other than that the hotel was great. Pizza from the bar was delicious and the casino was not loud. We were able to enjoy our stay very much!

Room Tip: Make sure you know what type of room you are booking and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are glad your stay was an enjoyable one even with the smoking room. We take great pride in giving the best overall experience and we're happy we were able to do that for you!

Hopefully, you'll choose Hickok's again as your place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on main st. Our room was very clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable.we requested nonsmoking and that is what we received. We could not hear any noise from the casino or streets.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlmphaseten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We take great pride in giving you the best and we're glad we met your expectations!

Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Loved our hotel. We wanted one downtown and it was perfect. It fit my top criteria of rooms I stay in, CLEAN. The moment we walked in the hotel it was fresh and clean smelling. Our room was 301, facing main street. The windows have ledges on them so I felt like Alma Garret (from the HBO show) looking out and watching all of the action! The whole town is nothing but super friendly people. You must spend a night watching Yancy sing at the Buffalo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us here! Our rooms facing main street are definitely preferred and we're happy you got enjoy the experience first hand!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Being that this was our first visit to Deadwood we wanted to stay in an older hotel with a bit of history and booked Hickok's online from photos.

When we arrived we saw that it was in a perfect location, on the main street and with nice views of the mountains and the town.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and although parking was down the street, we rarely needed our car anyways.

The room (we got a king sized bed) was tiny, but nice decor, clean and lovely. Fireplace, microwave, fridge, tv-pretty much everything we needed! Both the bedroom and bathroom had enormous windows so take in the views which we loved, but sadly they didnt open for fresh air.

The bathroom was as big as the room, which suited me just fine! and featured a claw foot tub, which i put to good use and loved.

Although we loved the hotel, there were definitely less expensive places, very close by that would have been just as good, for the amount of time we spent in our room we definitely paid too much...personal preference

Room Tip: top floor for better views-beware of elevator buttons, we got shocked every single time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We definitely appreciate any and all feedback.

We strive to make your make your stay the best experience for the best value. I do believe we have the best hotel staff in order to accomplish that(not biased at all:)). It truly is historic charm meets modern day here at Hickok's! We are very excited you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree the claw foot tub is the best!

We hope to see you again on your next visit through Deadwood and hopefully you get to stay a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#15 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickok's Hotel & Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickok's Hotel & Gaming

Property: Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Address: 685 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#11 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hickok's Hotel & Gaming 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickok's Hotel and Gaming is centrally located in the Black Hills National Park and is within driving distance to Rapid City, Ellsworth Air Force Base, The Mammoth Site, and located on Historic Deadwood Main Street, is within walking distance to numerous casinos. Guests will enjoy the casino in addition to free wireless internet, and meeting room space is available. Well equipped rooms offer a choice of one king bed or two extra long full beds, microwave, mini-fridge, in-room safes, iron and boards and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hickok's Hotel & Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickok`s Hotel And Gaming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing