We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great character hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hickok's Hotel & Gaming

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“great character hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hickoks is a great character hotel - 1890's style with high ceilinged rooms lovely dark wood, huge wood doors and there are many different room configurations. This hotel/casino is in downtown Deadwood (which is mostly just casinos) so you are right in the action if casinos are your thing. Our room had a small fridge, a microwave and coffee service a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower. There were two large windows curtained with heavy 1890's style curtains and a comfortable king size bed. As the hotel is close to the main road through town there was some truck noise early in the morning - my husband didn't notice it but I am a light sleeper and on one of the two mornings it woke me. This is definitely a character hotel with very friendly staff and a nice casino attached If you really like Ramada type accommodation this is not for you. We were in Deadwood for the scenery and other attractions in the Black hills area which is a beautiful area for camping, lakes, excellent adventure driving - try the needles highway - and check out the mammoth bones dig in the south. Hickoks Hotel has a steakhouse attached though we did not eat there. We ate at Kevin Costners three storey casino sports bar and fine dining just down the block. (Great pub food and great atmosphere).

Room Tip: Hotel has a configuration map that you might want to check out for room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I travel to Deadwood every summer. We try to stay somewhere different each time. Hickock's by far had the best room, anemities, location, view of downtown, and price of all the hotels. Minor downsides were that they advertise free souvenir slippers, but we did not get any. Upon request, they stated they ran out. Also, there is no parking at the hotel, but the ramp is centrally located in Deadwood, just a few blocks away. Great pizza as well!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

After looking through the choices in Deadwood, I decided on this hotel for our stay over "Deadweird" weekend (Halloween). We arrived on Friday evening, and stayed until Sunday checkout. The hotel was absolutely lovely, with the old west oozing from every corner. Very clean rooms, huge bathroom with jetted tub, and a most comfortable bed. The room included a fridge and a microwave, as well as normal amenities such as a coffee maker, hair dryer, etc. The room also provided bathrobe's for use during the stay, and slippers for guests to keep. Hickok's is located catty-corner to the Franklin where everything was happening on Saturday night. It's an amazing place and we will definitely be staying there any time we go to Deadwood!

Room Tip: They have suites with sitting areas that would be nice for relaxing, and some face Main Street which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Found by accident, but will use this hotel every time we return! The suites are large, clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The location is perfect for walking around town yet quiet at night!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We chose the Hickok based on other reviews for our trip to So. Dakota. This was the best hotel of our trip! Great room, super bed, friendly employees, great location. Muffins and coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belview, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Located on the south end of things on the main drag, 2 blocks from the new Deadwood Mountain Grand. Complimentary inside parking 2 blocks away. Huge rooms! Clean and nicely appointed. Will go back next time. Price was reasonable for the location. Close to everything. Take a walk off the main drag and explore some hidden treasurers for snacks, coffee and meals. There's an old gas station turned into a little coffee shop/collectors show case just a few blocks south east of Hickoks. Really cool place for morning coffee and a roll or muffin!

Room Tip: Some have a whirlpool tub in the bathroom,ask if you like. Ours had a sky lite above it as we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We couldn't believe our dumb luck! Trying to get a room in Deadwood on the 4th of July?? My husband and I have been to Deadwood lots of times but this time we were on our way home from Montana with my sister. We wanted to save some $ by sharing a room and found Hickok's Hotel. We got an actual 2 room suite with a fire place (not really needed in July) and a huge bathroom. The price was pretty reasonable when split. And the decor was very nice, too. The bed and pillows were great. Our only complaint was parking. There is no on-sight parking. You have to park in the city municipal parking ramp. But the rental car was safe and secure. I would like to say we'll stay again, but we seem to find better deals elsewhere in the spring and fall. But you never know!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriStJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.2 mi away
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickok's Hotel & Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickok's Hotel & Gaming

Property: Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Address: 685 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#12 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hickok's Hotel & Gaming 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickok's Hotel and Gaming is centrally located in the Black Hills National Park and is within driving distance to Rapid City, Ellsworth Air Force Base, The Mammoth Site, and located on Historic Deadwood Main Street, is within walking distance to numerous casinos. Guests will enjoy the casino in addition to free wireless internet, and meeting room space is available. Well equipped rooms offer a choice of one king bed or two extra long full beds, microwave, mini-fridge, in-room safes, iron and boards and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hickok's Hotel & Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickok`s Hotel And Gaming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing