We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Talk about a fun day..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blacktail Horseback and Walking Tours

Blacktail Horseback and Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 4 Tours in Deadwood
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Talk about a fun day..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went horseback riding and walked a bit. This was a really fun filled day. Very nice people and the view was sometning to see. A great time to just relax on the trail ride.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fordharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a fabulous time with Barbara Jean in late September. From the ride in the "Cowgirl Cadillac" to the very last minute it was relaxing and fun. Barbara Jean chose the perfect horse for each member in the group (my husband had NEVER ridden a horse!). The horses were well trained, and obviously very well cared for. Barbara Jean kept us entertained with her stories about the old mining days - she has a very amusing way of telling those tales. When it was time to give the horses a break we walked a short distance up the mountain and enjoyed a sweeping view of the beautiful Black Hills. This was one of the most fun things we did while on our vacation, and if we return it will be the first item on our "to-do" list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryJoyceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had to talk my husband into this because we had done this once about 25 years ago so we are not experienced.We had a wonderful ride in beautiful country and this was the highlight of our trip.We took a ride up the hill in her "cowboy cadillac" and after we talked for a little she showed us which horse we would be riding,picked our helmet ,and after she gave us instructions off we rode.Her dogs came with and we had such a great time!What a great person and we gave this experience a 5 star!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank crazygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Ride!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Barbara Jean was wonderful. What a great lady and trail guide. She matched us up with horses perfectly based on our personality and experience. Whether you are a first time rider or an experienced equestrian, it is definitely one of the best rides you could go on in the black hills. After the end of the ride I felt like I was one of Barbara Jean's best friends. It was an unforgettable experience for me and my family. It was by far the highlight of our trip!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Hermf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lake
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went on a trail ride with Barbara Jean. What a great time. The horses were well matched to us. She made the ride more than just riding horses. She said she would pick us up at the end of the driveway and showed up in her Cowgorl Cadillac!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindythebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blacktail Horseback and Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blacktail Horseback and Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing