We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do have the best burgers; great rest stop from ATV trail riding.”
Review of Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
Ranked #19 of 56 Restaurants in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“They do have the best burgers; great rest stop from ATV trail riding.”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Sugar Shack is right off a set of trails and 385 - we were riding ATVs for the day and stopped in for lunch and to fuel up - they have one gas pump right at the resteraunt. We ate outside at the covered, casual outdoor patio along w/ some other riders and bikers. The inside is small - restroom and everything was very clean. The waitress was very friendly and checked in on us frequently. The burger was hand-pattied - not frozen; we had the sandwich 'only' which did not include fries - but it came w/ chips. Great place for casual dining and very large burger!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Go MUST Go”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had a great burger, best one I think I have ever had.

Ordered the sugar burger with fries, when it came to the table it was huge and I thought there was no way I could eat the whole thing, but once I started eating I could not STOP. It was very flavorful and juicy.

Fries although not fresh cut are fried perfectly.

Chatted with the cook for a bit, he wanted to know how our burgers were, and had to tell him excellent! Better than a couple places I have eaten in the big city.

Although the place isn't "fancy" by any means, it certainly is homey and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

A few places to sit inside along with a bar, plus seating outside if the weather permits.

They serve Coke Products.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxAnnaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A cool little burger joint in the Black Hills”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a fun place to stop in for a huge burger. It isn't fancy inside, but the food is good and the atmosphere is fun. They also have a deck outside which is always a nice option especially in the Black Hills.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bears06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sugar Shack is a must eat while in Sturgis or visiting the Black Hills”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Myself, my wife and two other friends have eaten there 3 different times and everytime we ordered a different style (flavored) burger and they were always amazing!!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellyharris66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Good burger!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The only thing that could make the burgers better at the Sugar Shack is an old-fashioned hand-pattied burger. Even though they get their burgers from a food vendor, they are creative and tasty!! The service is always fun and upbeat! A real treat!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank LisaF574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing