We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Deadwood
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited South Dakota for the first time. I chose to stay in the legendary town of Deadwood, SD. We stayed at The Lodge at Deadwood. The room was large with 2 large double beds, and a nice comfortable couch, with a pull out bed. The TV was large, and had a fridge any many more amenities included in the room. Nice and pleasant staff, great location for swimming with both hot tub and fun activities for kids. The lodge provided a nice and pleasant place to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, and provided an on-site casino. Overall this place is in the beautiful mountains and is worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthhillsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you had such a wonderful and great experience at the Lodge. If you ever make it back to SD in the future we would love to have you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    135
    37
    7
    4
See reviews for
175
205
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is such a great hotel, something for everyone! My son loved the pool, so many fun things to do. Plus a little adult time in the casino for mom and dad. Next morning went down and had an amazing breakfast. Highly recommend for family or friends stay. Beautiful and very clean!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravelIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. We are glad to hear that you found the Lodge to be a great place for adult fun as well as a getaway for families. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you on a return visit to the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have stayed at The Lodge, as well as just stopped for a bit while driving through the Black Hills. Either way, we are always pleased with the atmosphere, service, and food.
Our last visit was on a day drive through the Black Hills. We stopped to have supper at Oddie's bar, inside The Lodge, because I was craving their Apple Spinich salad. The casino is well lit, with natural light from the front windows, so you don't feel like you are in a cave.
When we have stayed at the hotel, previously, the rooms are clean and the decor is a contemporary "woodsy". I especially like the rooms with a balcony, the view over the Hills is amazing. And if you want to visit downtown Deadwood, the Trolley will take you down and back so you don't have to worry about driving.
If you're visiting the Black Hills, I would suggest giving the Lodge a try. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front, for a better view. If you can get a balcony room, all the better. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you had such a wonderful and great experience at the Lodge. We hope that we can have you as a guest again on your next visit to Deadwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I feel like we have discovered the "Jewel of Deadwood"! The views from the top of the mountain are breathtaking, the casino is spread out and comfortable with the latest gaming, the staff is the best in service, always smiling and accommodating, and the sports bar/restaurant is amazing too. We had a lunch and dinner there and both were outstanding. Join Club76 for even more fun and the slot tournaments. We were just casino visitors this time but will definitely stay here in the near future. As far as we are concerned, this is the hotel that should have the #1 rating in Deadwood! The others don't hold a candle to this one.

Room Tip: Choose a room up high because the scenery is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! Our staff takes great pride in providing the very best in service and we believe it shows in the level of service you get while at the Lodge. If you are ever in Deadwood again we would love to see you have a great time here at the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had reseached this hotel with tripadvisor and was delighted when we arrived to see that it was better than I expected. The staff was extremely helpful and recommended a wonderful restaurant downtown for lunch. The room was very clean and comfortable . We only stayed one night but wished it could have been longer. We had dinner at the lodge(make sure you make reservations) but were disappointed because the main course was not hot when it arrived. We thought we would give it another try at breakfast but my husband's waffles arrived half cooked. The dough was runny on the inside. They offered to redo them but we had a time crunch and by then he had lost his appetite.. They did gave us credit but the meal was ruined.. Even with these mishaps we would hightly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is disappointing for me to hear that you did not receive the quality of food that the lodge is know for. I apologize and we hope to see you back at the Lodge during your next visit to the beautiful Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked a balcony room with 2 queens as king was not available. Noted that we were celebrating our 30th anniversary...received a call a few days later stating they had upgraded us to a King Spa Suite. Nice surprise. All staff were very friendly and first thing they said upon check in was Happy Anniversary! Helpful in answering questions about the area, etc.
Room was very spacious. Full kitchen, large dining room table (even had an extra leaf for the table in the closet) Nice living area with fireplace and TV, master suite also had fireplace and TV. Bathroom had two sinks and PLENTY of shampoo, shower gel, soap, etc. as well as plenty of fluffy towels. Very clean and neat....I guess the only comment about the room is that it might have had too much furniture. Bedroom had a large leather chair which seemed to get in the way, but nice if you wanted to sit and watch TV by the fireplace.
Casino is very spacious and clean/open. No smoking is a nice feature. Gambled a bit, but no payouts, so didn't do much of that. The Oggies Bar is very nice ..open, lots of TVS. Had the shrimp "appetizer"...could have been a meal... very tasty. Staff again is very friendly and helpful. Also ate THE Grille two nights....VERY good... service and meals were exceptional. Had the halibut and the filets. Servicers were very concerned about how the steaks came out and checked back to make sure everything was good, but not to be overbearing.
I had not expected the overall excellent rating as my experiences with mountain casino towns and stays have been less than stellar however very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. Our staff takes great pride in providing the very best in service and we believe it shows in the level of service you get while at the Lodge. Hopefully we can have you as a guest again on your next anniversary, special occasion, or getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

had a conference here recently. Have eaten here before, but never stayed. no reason until now. Very nice accommodations. Food was better than it has been in the past. Great wine. Have never liked the ding-ding-ding of casinos so won't review that. If you are coming to visit Deadwood, keep in mind its a way away from downtown. They do have shuttles, but it ain't walking distance, but very nice none-the-less.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spearchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the conference held at the Lodge. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Property: The Lodge at Deadwood
Address: 100 Pine Crest Lane, Deadwood, SD 57732-7372
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Deadwood brings you some of the best lodging, dining, and casino entertainment in the Northern Black Hills! Explore the million-acre recreational playground right outside our doors. Then stay, dine, play, and experience everything this historic town has to offer. Visit us year-round in Deadwood, South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing