We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is pretty darn good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Deadwood
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Belfield, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This place is pretty darn good”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have stayed here at least 4 times, I have always been please with my room, it being clean and quite. Kind of out of town, but they have every thing you need. The food is excellent, the pool is nice.

Room Tip: I can not tell you have to get a better room, as they all have been good, but I can tell you that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyEatsitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is always great to hear from our frequent guests. We hope to have you as a guest again on your next visit to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    130
    35
    7
    4
See reviews for
165
194
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

New, modern, very clean. Attached casino and conference center were great. Did not use pool area. Beautiful location and quiet. Had a king suit and room was big. Will stay here again.

Why does the review have to be 200 characters long?

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you had such a wonderful and great experience at the Lodge. Hopefully we can have you as a guest again on your next visit to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Lodge is a great place for families to hang out after a day at the slopes of Terry Peak, itself a little gem of Midwest skiing. Their dining room has perhaps the best food and service in we steer South Dakota and the sports bar is good for a drink and pub food.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is nice to hear that your family enjoyed the facility after a long day on the slopes. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is the best hotel in Deadwood if you are traveling with children. They have family rooms - 2 double beds and a pull out sofa in a separate area with its own tv. The rooms otherwise are pretty average. The furnishings and linens are worn and not high end. It was a windy night when we were there and there was a continuous clanging from something loose outside making it hard to sleep. What makes this a good hotel for families is the large pool and a good restaurant/bar. We've never had a bad meal and service is usually quick and friendly. Check in is smooth and again friendly. Rates are higher than other hotels in the area.

There is decently large casino, but dealers that are not always the friendliest. A lot of the time they seem bored. There is a shuttle that will take you to downtown Deadwood. The Lodge is removed from downtown as you enter Deadwood on a hill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. We hope to see you back at the Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was a quiet and accommodating place to stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean with polite service. We enjoyed eating at the restaurants inside the hotel and found the prices reasonable. We especially enjoyed the indoor pool and spa! The "children's pool" was pretty amazing. Not what I would expect in a small town in South Dakota! We did a lot of sightseeing while there so it was nice to come back and relax in the hot tub at night.
We had fun at the casino. The slots were pretty generous to us during our stay. Everyone was well behaved and fun to be around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your family trip to the Lodge and even had a little fun in the casino. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Since my previous review I have had the opportunity to stay in the hotel and the stay was great. Rooms are very nice. We stayed for a wedding reception and the venue was beautiful for the event. If I were traveling to Deadwood with children this is probably one of the better family friendly hotels. We also frequent the casino and restaurant(sports bar) with other couples on a regular basis. We're all in our 30s-40s and The Lodge is one of the few places in Deadwood where I don't feel like I'm the only one that didn't come in on the seniors tour bus. The food is mid to above average sports bar style food. The restaurant food, on my 2 visits, was not really any better than the sports bar so in my opinion not worth the extra cost or wait to be seated. They rotate their slot games fairly regularly which I suppose is a bonus unless they get rid of your favorite machine, then it's a bummer. Payouts are subjective, they do have frequent "hot seat" drawings if you have a players card & I won once! Overall my opinion is based on someone who likes a clean updated environment with good service & quality. I am a local to the area so the "historic appeal" of staying downtown Deadwood is not a factor in my choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you had such a wonderful and great experience at the Lodge. Hopefully we can have you as a guest again on your next visit to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoder, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My Wife and I took a spur of the moment trip to the Lodge in Deadwood on Christmas Eve. We arrived around 930p and were greeted with awesome service throughout our stay. Kathy checked us in at the front desk and took great care of us. We were very pleased with the fact that the Lodge was very pet friendly as we were able to bring our Golden and our Havanese with us.

The room itself was nice as well as clean with modern touches and the beds were comfortable as well.

We ate onsite at Oggies sports bar the first night there and the food and service was good. On Christmas day we at at the Deadwood Grille also on site had the most delicious special holiday meal- my wife and I both had the prime rib and it was cooked perfectly right down to the charred Broccoli.

The Casino was fun we tried our hand at several of the slots and had lots of fun doing it. We did not have an opportunity to participate in a planned Texas hold em tournament because of our early departure time but will the next time we go.

Overall our stay was perfect especially considering it was Christmas eve and Christmas- was the perfect getaway and we cant wait to get back for another visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricNAlicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. We hope to see you back at the Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Property: The Lodge at Deadwood
Address: 100 Pine Crest Lane, Deadwood, SD 57732-7372
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Deadwood brings you some of the best lodging, dining, and casino entertainment in the Northern Black Hills! Explore the million-acre recreational playground right outside our doors. Then stay, dine, play, and experience everything this historic town has to offer. Visit us year-round in Deadwood, South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing