We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Deadwood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Deadwood
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The front desk was very friendly and helpful with our sightseeing inquiries. The room was quite nice (and relatively large & well appointed) with a good view from the balcony -- 4th floor with a view of the Black Hills and the Bison venue across the street. The breakfast was a great value - good food with large portions at a very reasonable price.

Overall, the hotel is well appointed, and the staff is very very nice.

Room Tip: 4th floor room facing Black Hills and Bison venue across the street. See Above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! The staff at the Lodge is always willing to help out with directions and recommendations for sightseeing anywhere in the beautiful Black Hills. Please keep us in mind if you ever visit Deadwood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 594 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our two day stay began with a friendly greeting at the front desk and only got better. A great suite and fabulous restaurants only made our visit truly memorable. They have a family friendly waterpark and great casino. The entire staff was outstanding!

Room Tip: I don't believe they have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 724charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. We hear from our guests all the time that the service they get while at the Lodge makes a lasting impression on them. We hope to see you at the Lodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in the area visiting a friend and decided to check out some of the local casinos. Based on a recommendation, we checked out The Lodge at Deadwood. The casino was very clean and there is a No Smoking policy throughout the entire complex. That made it very comfortable for us as non-smokers. They had some of the newer games in town, including some I had never played before, which is getting harder and harder to find. The games were a little tight, as my friends did not do well. The waitress staff in the casino was very friendly and made sure you had drinks, if desired. I ended up with a good chunk of what they lost, so they are hearing about it regularly. Overall, I give this casino a great rating in every area we used.

I can't rate some of the categories, since we did not stay at the hotel and were not able to take advantage of the breakfast, rooms, or spa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD_IC_2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the non-smoking atmosphere at the Lodge. Please keep us in mind if you ever visit Deadwood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have never stayed in the hotel as they do not have "smoking rooms" and we have a choice. However, we just spent a week in Deadwood and played in their casino everyday. All machines in Deadwood are "tight" but these were the best. We won enough to play for hours which is all we expect. Have many fun machines with a big variety. Excellent self serve coffee but wished is was located in a more convenient area. Also wish they had "soda bars" like other casinos in Deadwood without having to wait on a server to come around. I prefer to fix my own with just the right amount of ice. Beautiful location and hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyKirk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Lodge and even won enough to play the machines for awhile. Please keep us in mind if you ever visit Deadwood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Any complaints were immediately addressed! The hotel was very nice and comfortable. As soon as we arrived in our room, the phone rang & it was the front desk checking to see if our room was satisfactory. The casino looked small, but was actually large & just spaced out between rooms. It gave a nice open & relaxed feeling (in comparison to some that inspire claustrophobia! lol!) The pool has a pirate ship in it & is very family friendly. There's also a hot tub right next to it so you can relax while the kids go nuts! The conference rooms are medium & huge. There was one point where we were supposed to have a meeting & there were no chairs. No one could find a staff member in the area, so we went to the front desk & the clerk sent someone on the spot! Only the kitchen seemed to have glitches. Our waitresses were great & stayed on top of things, even noticing when others' cooked breakfast was on the table & my cereal was not. It's right up the 'hill' from downtown Deadwood.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We had a friend make a mistake & cancell their room. We had 4 people &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J3NN_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all the little things that the staff does to make everyone's stay at the Lodge a little more enjoyable. We hope to see you back at the Lodge again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The front staff, support services and wait staff in their restaurant were outstanding. We had a fabulous room, king bed, with balcony to enjoy the sunset/sunrise. There is a trolley that comes to the hotel on the hour ($1 each way per person) that will take you to Deadwood Main Street. We drove Main Street and there was nothing special for us to come back to, just more casinos. If you want to gamble, stay at this lodge and enjoy yourself. They have a wonderful little water park for the kids and a hot tub for adults. The hotel is close to Spearfish Canyon, which we took in since we arrived too early for our room to be ready. We had stayed in Hill City the night before which was an hour away, so we were there in a blink. Thought there was more to see downtown so that is why we decided to stay here rather than moving down the road. If I had to do it over, coming from Hill City which is a great location, I probably would pass on Deadwood. BUT, if you need to stay there, select The Lodge at Deadwood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovingRetirement67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. We hope to see you back at the Lodge again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

my wife and I spent 4 days at the wonderful hotel. the rooms are spacious, the service was top notch and the food was high quality and reasonably priced. I enjoyed the location just outside the tourist district of Deadwood. not much traffic and on a motorcycle this point is important.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380Mikem251380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Lodge. The Black Hills is always a great destination for a person on a motorcycle. Please keep us in mind if you are ever on another motorcycle vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
1.4 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
768 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 25 in Deadwood
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Address: 100 Pine Crest Ln, Deadwood, SD 57732-7372
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: $77 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Deadwood brings you some of the best lodging, dining, and casino entertainment in the Northern Black Hills! Explore the million-acre recreational playground right outside our doors. Then stay, dine, play, and experience everything this historic town has to offer. Visit us year-round in Deadwood, South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing