We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in South Dakota”

Ranked #16 of 39 things to do in Deadwood
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of South Dakota's largest ski areas featres trails for snowmobiles.
USA
2 reviews
“Best value in South Dakota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Terry Peak Lodge across the street from the Terry Peak Ski area. The condo we rented was comfortable and decorated very cute. Two huge reclyner chairs to sit back and enjoy watching tv in the evening. Plenty of hot water in the shower. There werecomfortable bunk style beds in the bedroom. Plenty of storage room in bedroom with 4 large cabinets, a dresser and a small piece of furniture that had basket type drawers. The heater work well in the unit. The view was spectacular from the window in the front room. I believe the couch turned into a sofa bed, but with just 2 of us we did not need to use it. Kitchenette was sufficient to cook full meals. I believe there was a mounted radio/stereo in the kitchen area. There was a large patio over the indoor pool and spas, but too cold to go out there in the winter for any length of time. Summer would be a different story. The lobby area has a nice fire place with a roaring fire. Right above the lobby area is a nice game room with games and puzzles and a couple of pin ball machines. The manager at the lodge was very nice and accomodating. We did not utilize the game room, but it seemed very nice. At their website you can view the condos and pick the one you want to rent. All condos seem to be decorated different. Some very nice, others seem so so, but all looked very clean. The location is just a short drive to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Badlands National Park and Devil's Monument. I would rate Terry Peak Lodge a straight across 10 + for value, cleanliness and location.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelinDuoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Ski Area in the Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's a great hill with surprising diversity. The lift ticket and season pass are good, and has terrain that is fun for everyone.

Glade skiing is very fun here, especially since some unknown areas have powder stashes that can stay full year round.

I am not a park skier, but when I do it is entertaining and provides good challenges.

With 3 high-speed lifts, a attached-chair lift, and a covered surface lift now, I would most certainly recommend this this area to anyone.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMcGough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breckenridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terry Peak so close to the action”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Terry Peak was closed because of no snow but we didn't come to ski just check it out. It looks great with quite a lot of vertical and several lifts. It also had a magic carpet to learn to slide on the slopes. We'll have to return in February for some Winter Sport.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good for beginners and pros alike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Good bunny hill as well as more advanced hills and black diamonds - pretty crowed, though!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brillo6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great Ski Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This Ski Area has something for everyone. The slopes are great, and the staff are not only friendly but will sometimes go out of their way to make sure that you have the best time you can during you time on Terry Peak.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry Peak Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Terry Peak Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing