We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Campground
Yuma, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stay at Hidden Valley Campground every year for the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. The management staff are awsome, and the grounds, facilities, and comfort are second to none. A very enjoyable place to stay. The friends we ride with are now staying at Hidden Valley annually with us. We have never had a bad experience, and consider this our vacation of the year spot. Over the years we have met many people, and have made lifelong friendships staying at HVC. Again this year our cabin is booked, and can hardly wait to get back out there and have more great times. We have moved from Sioux Falls S.D. to Yuma AZ., but our summer destination will always be the rally and HVC. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to stay. Phil & Jill Beatty

Room Tip: During the winter months you can make contact with HVC via the internet as they are closed for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in the campsite for the Sturgis Rally, the coffee pot was always on. The warm showers, laundry room and the down home feeling we received from the staff was awesome.The cabins, beds were excellent not to forget the TV.lol I highly recommend this campsite to anyone visiting the Black Hills of South Dakota.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

So nice, it's almost not real camping, lol! Lovely laundry room/game room/shower and bathroom building that we made full use of. Hot showers were heaven and the showers and bathrooms always scrumptiously clean. Nice litte store onsite with water, beer, ice, etc(though I recommend shopping at the grocery in Hill City to save money). They also offered hot pizza(just frozen, oven-baked, store-bought, but still a nice treat!)brough to your campsite for a reasonable price when we were there.
The location is terriffic, close to Deadwood and not far from Mt Rushmore and though there are far more scenic campgrounds, it was still pretty and awesome for the price. There a little kitshy village down the highway with some classic cars and a ferris wheel my kids spent a fun hour at on the way to Mt Rushmore from the campground. There is also a little park on site my two youngest(4 and 8 years at the time) enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IcyMama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this campground in July 2012 and had a great time. We have stayed next door at Creekside Campgrounds in the cabins, but this time we were staying in a tent, and the owner at Creekside suggested we go next door to Hidden Valley Campground for better tent sites. At Hidden Valley, we had a beautiful tent site along the creek. We paid about $20 per night. The campground had everything we needed (playground, arcade room, country store, laundry, basketball court). There is also a convienence store/gas station located within walking distance. The bathrooms and showers at this campground were the cleanest I've ever seen at a campground. Besides tent sites, they have full hook-ups for campers, and they have a few cabins available. The owners were very friendly and helpful with info. The campground is located about 10 minutes south of Deadwood on the main road (385). I will be staying here again on our next trip to the Black Hills area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED by a South Dakotan!
The service was friendly and flexible beyond belief!
After searching for an affordable place to stay in The Hills, I decided on HVC because of the location--what we received was worth much more than paid!
During our two night stay, all three [cabin] campers had quiet, peaceful and rest-filled evenings!
Lets talk about cleanliness--I was ashamed of my bathroom when I saw the women's facilities! Not a speck of dirt and a welcoming aroma, I have been traveling my entire life and have never seen a campground, not even a hotel bathroom as impeccable.
The location is perfect if you want to spend most of your time in Deadwood/Spearfish/Sturgis and/or swimming at nearby lakes and beaches. We didn't mind the scenic 40 minute drive to Hill City, Keystone, etc.
One more thing--as I walked around the campground I found that there were license plates from Pennington and Lawrence county. I think that says a lot, when local people choose to send their family/friends to an establishment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is the place to stay if you want to camp near Deadwood. We didn't particularly have any plans in Deadwood but knew we wanted to stay in the area. We stayed at Hidden Valley because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor and they were right. Very clean bathhouses with very clean shower stalls and great water pressure, beautiful babbling brook encompassing the camp. There's a store at the office too if you forget anything. Great rates as well; you get way more for your money here than going with a brand name like KOA.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbsmjs430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for a week while visiting the area in a toyhauler trailer, we had full hookups. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The common area garbage cans were emptied at least twice a day. The restrooms/showers were clean and well maintained. No pool, but a small playground for kids, and a stream running down the middle you could wade/play in. It is located just off the highway, but far enough away that you will not be bothered with excessive road noise. There is a gas station/convenience store about a 50 yards from the entrance, as well as a pub and grub cafe (good food, but $$ for what you got). We also explored the other campgrounds that were in the area, this one was by FAR the most family friendly and cleaner of the bunch! Not to mention not as cramped, some of the other campgrounds the sites were stacked up on each other, we were far enough away from neighbors that you could have a private conversation. We also brought a OHV and there are alot of easily accessible forest service roads in the area, my son also did some mountain biking close by. Did not have any problems with services provided. I would recommend this campground with out hesitation and would stay here again. Oh yeah, it is pet friendly, our wiener dog gives it two paws up!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erixun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
7.0 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
519 reviews
6.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
6.5 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#19 of 24 in Deadwood
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.5 mi away
Mystic Hills Hideaway
Mystic Hills Hideaway
#1 of 9 in Deadwood
178 reviews
5.4 mi away
Whistler Gulch Campground & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Campground

Property: Hidden Valley Campground
Address: 21423 US Highway 385, Deadwood, SD 57732-7313
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Deadwood
Number of rooms: 61

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing