We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of Days of '76 Museum

Days of '76 Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Deadwood and Sturgis Nightlife Tour
Ranked #9 of 39 things to do in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Live re-creations of the town's rich history started in 1924 through the Days of '76 celebration and award-winning rodeo. The celebration began as a way to honor Deadwood's pioneers - the prospectors, miners, muleskinners and madams who poured into the Black Hills in 1876 to settle the gold-filled gulches of Dakota Territory. Deadwood's newest museum documents the celebration and rodeo. The Days of '76 Museum features exceptional displays of carriages, firearms, American Indian artifacts and illustrates Deadwood's enduring friendship with Buffalo Bill Cody. The Days of '76 Museum is wheelchair accessible. The Mercantile gift shop is located on the first floor.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This museum is a collection of photographs that aren't even original; a few guns that represent the period but may not be necessarily related to Deadwood and a gift shop that essentially you paid $4.50 to visit. I was through the museum in 15 minutes, although I was told it would take almost two hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAustin613, Manager at Days of '76 Museum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed by your visit to the Days of '76 Museum and wish to address your comments.

There are a couple of important reasons we do not display our original photographs. Photographs are particularly sensitive to lighting and for conservation reasons we typically scan and print the image for display purposes. The original photograph is stored in an acid-free and climate controlled environment. By displaying copies we are also able to enlarge the images for dramatic effect. Our photographs primarily serve as exhibit devices to help tell the story. All of the 3-dimensional objects on display, however, are original. We also make sure we tell you when you are looking at a copy of photograph.

As far as only have a few guns on display, I am wondering if you visit us prior to the full installation of the firearms display being completed? We now have 144 guns on exhibit. I'm also wondering if you may have missed the Native American and All Trails Lead to Deadwood exhibits? The trails exhibit is on the lower level and is one of the largest horse drawn vehicle collections in the region.

Thank you for taking the time to write. I hope you will give us another try the next time you are in the Black Hills.

Best regards,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    46
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Am not a big museum person and my husband and I were really only looking for something to do for a couple of hours during 3 days of incessant rain in Deadwood. Well this turned out to be a really nice place. New, roomy, well laid-out, bright and airy. Very interesting insight into the history of Deadwood and other aspects of the settlers' lives, as well of the native Americans. Great Rodeo section, and also a very good video on Buffalo Bil Cody. Downstairs is a large selection of original carriages still used in the Days of 76 parade each year. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maloutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This museum is very well done and very intersting to visit. It does give a good look at the history of Deadwood, and the old covered wagons downstairs are very neat to see. We enjoyed this very much!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tat2Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nicely done museum”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is more about the history of the "Days of 76" celebration that Deadwood is famous for but still very interesting. Had some great info on rodeo's and their collection of old time horse drawn carriages and buggies is incredible!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
278 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“This collection is really worth seeing”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We breezed through here in about an hour, but we were in a bit of a rush to, you guessed it, see other stuff.

Great collection of wagons, stagecoaches and such. Gun collection was also pretty wild. A lot to learn here in a new facility. The girl who worked here (I bet my gf would remember her name) was so friendly and helpful I would go back just to chat with her again. I don't know if we just got lucky, but Deadwood was definitely one of the nicest towns we visited on a multi-week trip. In any case, this place is definitely worth a visit. In fact I would do the deal with visiting the Adams House and Adams Museum and see all 3 for a few dollars off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank troy mcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Days of '76 Museum also viewed

 

Been to Days of '76 Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing