We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK location but felt a bit worn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“OK location but felt a bit worn”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We enjoyed our time in Deadwood, and as in most times I've been I've been in a casino town, the bedroom is good for about one thing - sleeping. The hotel could probably use some renovation - I mean, my bathroom door looked to be made of plywood and didn't shut completely. I will thank them for the turndown service title chocolates, though! It's near the end of the Main Street in Deadwood, but nothing is too far from you.

Easy checkout on a Sunday morning, but the valet seemed to want to be anywhere but there.

Loved Deadwood and had a lot of fun, but if I'm back, I'd probably try another place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Mineral Palace. We always love to hear what our guests have to say about their experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our turndown service and location of the hotel. Thank you for bringing to my attention that the bathroom door doesn’t shut, we will have this fixed immediately. Next time you return to Deadwood, we hope that you will give us another chance to prove our customer service and the improvements in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    54
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
67
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattaroy, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The staff was very polite from the front desk to valet to the gaming tables. The rooms were clean and it was nice to be right downtown. I was somewhat disappointed with the restaurant on site but the location of the hotel gives you lots of restaurants you can easily walk to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us; we always love to hear how much our guests enjoyed the staff and the amenities we offer. We agree with you, being down town offers a lot of variety to walk and see the sites of Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable during our stay. The rooms were clean & spacious with good views of Main Street. Rates in April were very reasonable. This is going to be go to place to stay when in Deadwood. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Choose a 3rd floor room to avoid noise from the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tat2Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff at the Mineral Palace we want to thank you for your compliments regarding your time spent with us. We are always excited to hear our guests will be returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel valet and registration desk and managers of the hotel were just excellent and our stay was great I would recommend anyone to stay at the Mineral Palace in fact I will not stay anywhere else again in Deadwood SD unless they are full and I cannot get in, and the rooms were clean and very large it just made our stay very enjoyable. Thanks Again

Room Tip: the rooms we had were all very quiet and accommidationg
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darnell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We always love to hear from our guests and we are excited to hear you have a wonderful time with us and enjoyed our customer service. Thank you for your recommendation to stay at the Mineral Palace Hotel & Casino. Our Housekeeping staff was delighted to hear you loved the rooms; we all look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the mineral palace over Easter weekend. The rooms were okay nothing fancy and very dark. The staff was not too polite. We ate breakfast at the gem upstairs and there was a hair in our eggs. We were not comped or given a coupon after paying. We did get a good deal on the weekend staying one free so that was good. Fun place to gamble, nice dealers at the table. Overall it wasn't a horrible stay but we won't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the Mineral Palace Hotel & Casino. We appreciate you taking the time to share your good and bad experiences with us over Easter weekend. I have notified the Food and Beverage Director regarding your issue with your breakfast. Next time you eat in the Gem Steakhouse, please speak with the supervisor on duty to take care of any issues with the food or service. Thank you for being open with us on the hotel rooms and our staff. We feel that we always have room for improvement and we thank you for letting us know. When you return we believe you will see an improvement in the service of our staff. We hope you will give us another chance when you return to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a nice stay at the Mineral Palace at the end of February. The location is great and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The price could not be beat! The room was large and the bed was comfortable. We had a nice meal at the hotel and there is a great breakfast spot just across the street. We have stayed here before and will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justdesserts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Mineral Palace as your destination hotel when you come to Deadwood. We love to hear from returning guests! Many of our guests love our beds. We agree the breakfast at the Howlin’ Hawg across the street is great and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal in the Gem Restaurant. Thank you for you comment and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.2 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming

Property: Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Address: 601 Historic Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mineral Palace Hotel & Gaming: Located on Deadwood's Historic Main Street. Try your luck in our 12 Casinos. Enjoy Deadwood's Best Steaks at the Gem Steakhouse & Saloon. Pamper yourself in one of our 13 VIP Suites. All 75 recently remodeled rooms have in-room safes, iron, & ironing board, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Handicapped Accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing