We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I just want to say this Restaurant/Hotel did an outstanding job to make my meal the best possible gluten free meal. Our waiter was excellent!!! Glad we stopped for lunch. Need a gluten free meal just tell the staff and they will make sure it is!! Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sask62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 197 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

This being my 2nd time at the Mineral Palace, I recommend the King suite over the standard King as your have way more room. The Hotel is located on Lower Main, away from the noise of the Jam, and I prefer Lower Main for it's "character."
The rooms are modern yet the hotel maintains it's Deadwood feel and attitude. Staff are very accommodating, as long as you understand this this is S. Dakota, not Vegas.
The beds are pillow-tops.
Gambling rooms are excellent along with their excellent service.
Inside the Palace is the fine dining GEM Restaurant. The steaks are best in town.
A good value for the money in Deadwood, if you prefer a nice, modern room.

Only complaint, and it's a BIGGIE: Hotel parking is an absolute joke. It must be improved.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivebeeneverywhere55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Everyone was so friendly. Great service and great food. When I go back I will for sure be staying here and telling all my friends and family the outstanding service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stay at the Mineral Palace once or twice a year. Love the location - on Main Street, walking distance to other casinos and shops. The trolley stops right in front. The staff is very friendly -- some have worked there for years.

We prefer to stay on the third level so there is no one above us.We have stayed on the second floor a few times and found it annoying to hear people above us pacing back and forth at all hours. The rooms facing main street are not as noisy as the rooms facing the highway/road. But you still can hear street noise and traffic. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms have large bathrooms, a digital safe, a coffeemaker and flat screen tv. Coffee, hot water and baskets with tea, hot chocolate and apple cider packets are right by the front desk. Like most places in Deadwood, the rooms are pricey.


The Mineral Palace has a large casino. The restaurant (Gem Steakhouse) serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food there is great!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jgluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Mineral Palace as your destination hotel when you come to Deadwood. We love to hear from returning guests! Many guests do enjoy the rooms facing Historic Main Street as they have a wonderful view of downtown Deadwood. We also appreciate your mentioning the amenities in each room as all hotel rooms have been updated over the last two years. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Gem Steakhouse & Saloon – we agree, the food is great! We will be sure to share your kind words about our staff with our team too. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Do not stay here! The people who worked there acted like they were on vacation themselves. The Valet supervisor was rude to us when we dropped our car off at valet. Then we had misplaced our ticket and he was a complete jerk. He said there was nothing he could do if we did not have our ticket. He was not going to give us our car!!! Jahmal was very nice and apoligized for his supervisors behavior. Then the walls are paper thin I could here everything from the room next door nothing like being up from 2am til 4am. This Hotel was dissappointing. I can't beleive that anyone has had a good experience here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristen2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mineral Palace, we are sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our valet team for training purposes. We have always prided ourselves on providing excellent customer service so it's disappointing to hear when we have not met our own high standards. The Management and staff at the Mineral Palace Hotel & Casino believe that returning guests do so; not only for our on-property amenities, but also because of the great customer service they receive. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove that to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I have attended ski for light for many years and look forward to it every year. The Mineral Palace has been more than accomodating and the employees go out of there way to make your stay wonderful. I use a wheelchair and the hotel was very wheelchair friendly. It is located in a central location which makes it easy to get around to do a little shopping in downtown Deadwood. The hotel restaurant served delicious meals and there is a balcony that overlooks mainstreet. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have been staying at the Mineral Palace during Ski for Light for the last 7-8 years. I enjoy my stay every year because the staff and owner are very nice, kind, and helpful. The beds are exceptionally comfortable, the rooms clean and welcoming, and the food is very tasty and amazing. Not to mention the deals that they have given our group has been so helpful in making this trip possible to attend every year. I highly recommend this facility to stay at. It's the best hotel in Deadwood!

Thanks for everything!
Tara K.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.2 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 25 in Deadwood
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming

Address: 601 Historic Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: $54 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mineral Palace Hotel & Gaming: Located on Deadwood's Historic Main Street. Try your luck in our 12 Casinos. Enjoy Deadwood's Best Steaks at the Gem Steakhouse & Saloon. Pamper yourself in one of our 13 VIP Suites. All 75 recently remodeled rooms have in-room safes, iron, & ironing board, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Handicapped Accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing