We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skippy portions” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gem Steakhouse & Saloon

Gem Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Deadwood
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Gem Steakhouse is located on the second floor of the Mineral Palace Casino. Serving breakfast from 7 am - 11 am, lunch from 11 am - 4 pm and dinner from 4 pm - 10 pm. Take a walk through history and join us for an excellent meal in the exact location of Al Swearengen's Notorious 1877 Gem Theater.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Skippy portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

the service is very slow but it was only because there was only one waitress working. she did very well for that fact of her being the only one working. I had the ribeye sandwich with mushrooms and onions. I couldn't believe there was only 3 mushrooms and very little onions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Gem Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Gem Steakhouse. We apologize for a staffing problem that kept you waiting and that the sandwich toppings fell short of your expectations. We will be sure to share your feedback with the Chef. Thank you again and we do hope you will stop in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    110
    63
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The service was pretty good, however, the food has gone down since last year. When we first went to this restaurant, the food was very good. The past 2 times, however, the food quality is slipping. I had a prime rib last time and you couldn't tell it was a prime rib! The vegetables are overcooked, the appetizer (crab-stuffed wonton) was also overcooked, and the steak was not cooked to the right temp. However, the ambience is great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjfitzhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Gem Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to comment about your recent experience in the Gem Steakhouse. We are sorry that we have not met your expectations. Your concerns about the food will be looked into to ensure that this does not continue to happen. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you excellence in our service and steaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

While your walking through this great little town take the time to stop in and look around this steakhouse or if in need of something to eat I'm sure its a great place. I didn't personally eat here but found the atmosphere pleasant for a drink.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millermccloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Gem Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Gem Steakhouse. A little history on the place: the Gem Steakhouse is the original location of the 1877 Gem Theater; which was Al Swearengen’s largest dancehall in Deadwood. Stop in and take a walk through history!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

You'd think it would be a little special but.... Windows dirty, stackable chairs and average food and other than a large chandler definately nothing impressive. It was all OK but with the GEM - well that could have and should have done more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AssaultManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Gem Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent experience in the Gem Steakhouse. We appreciate you brining our attention to the cleanliness of the windows and we will take into consideration your comments about the chairs and food. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations; however, we hope that you will stop in and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for me!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Last night we ate at the Gem Steakhouse in Deadwood. Service was slow, and our waitress was just going through the motions. Perhaps she was just having a bad day!! On the positive side, the portions were large, however the ribs and sauce were very average. My suggestion, look for another restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gem Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Gem Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing