We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal”

Gem Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #7 of 53 Restaurants in Deadwood
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Gem Steakhouse is located on the second floor of the Mineral Palace Casino. Serving breakfast from 7 am - 11 am, lunch from 11 am - 4 pm and dinner from 4 pm - 10 pm. Take a walk through history and join us for an excellent meal in the exact location of Al Swearengen's Notorious 1877 Gem Theater.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Gem's was our best meal in Deadwood. The steak was awsome. My wife had the shimp. The portions were good and we both left full and happy. We had a table by the window over looking Deadwood's main street. Great servcie. A must when you are in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snootzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Gem Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! Management and staff at the Gem Steakhouse believe that guests who return to our restaurant do so because of the customer service and great food. A wonderful view of Deadwood’s downtown is eating by the windows overlooking Historic Main Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    112
    63
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast reasonable and good portions. Lunches are are pretty good. Dinner however needs improvement. The steaks themselves are pretty good, but side dishes lack. The mashed and garlic mashed are instant potatoes. The bread is a piece of Texas toast you get out of the freezer. The veggies are usually awful, they are frozen and steamed. Salads are iceberg pulled out of a bag. Desserts are food service types pulled out of a box. Wine list average at best. The place has potential but a ways away from achieving it

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Wyoming, United States
1 review
“Incredible steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I had a completely enjoyable dinner. We had the Mineral Palace Ribeye and WOW what a meal. The salad was fresh, the steak was tender and delicious. The steak is a huge cut of meat for two people. and the sides are each persons choice. Our server was terrific. The best dining experience we've had in Deadwood!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Gem Steakhouse & Saloon located above Mineral Palace in Deadwood has a large variety of steaks as well as other delicious menu items to choose from. Some recent selecitons include the Motherlode Quesadilla (chicken), Merrick's Garlic Ribeye 12oz & Dority's Black & Bleu Steak 8oz sirloin. Our waitress was very pleasant and our experience is always enjoyable when having dinner here. We love the bar and patio weather permitting of course. We will stop here again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiecutie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food--Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Once again, the Mineral Palace Hotel and the Gem Steakhouse have outdone themselves in support of our annual Ski For Light event. The food, the service and the friendliness go way beyond expectations.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gem Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Gem Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing