We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”

Gem Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #7 of 53 Restaurants in Deadwood
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Gem Steakhouse is located on the second floor of the Mineral Palace Casino. Serving breakfast from 7 am - 11 am, lunch from 11 am - 4 pm and dinner from 4 pm - 10 pm. Take a walk through history and join us for an excellent meal in the exact location of Al Swearengen's Notorious 1877 Gem Theater.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
303 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Several local people suggested the Gem Steakhouse for breakfast and we were rewarded with an excellent experience. Service is no great deal but the quality of the meals was exceptional so we took the overall experience as a win. Nothing fancy and expect to refill your own coffee.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueFromWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    112
    63
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flawed Gem”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

As we entered the restaurant, we were impressed with the atmosphere...marble, crystal, nice woodworking.

Service was found to be average.

The food was disappointing. My chicken-fried steak tasted of nothing but black pepper, yet the mashed potatoes and green beans were bland and flavorless. My husband's NewYork strip steak was poorly seasoned, and very grisly and difficult to eat. Again, his sides were flavorless.

For a similar meal, our local supper clubs in WI will produce a better meal for 2/3 the price.

Overall, we were very disappointed, and would not recommend this restaurant for dinner dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenTikvah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, VT
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in deadwood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stopped the trolley driver this morning and asked him where the best breakfast in town was. He said 'gem steakhouse' was his favorite.

You don't really know it's there because you have to go through the gaming area and up the elevator, but on the 2nd floor is a very nice, clean restaurant with excellent food at reasonable prices. The service was top notch - I was greeted kindly, asked how my day was, not over-bothered while eating and warmly bid farewell when I left.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vhsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's OK, but that's about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

I agree with what some other reviewers have said: this is an OK choice in a town with not a lot to offer in the dining department, but it's still nothing to write home about. The steak I had was good, everything else (including the service) just so-so.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voyageur08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you value service, avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We arrived for an early dinner around 5:30 pm. Dana, the Maitre d'?, seemed very eager to seat us for dinner (Deadwood is pretty deserted this tme of year). We told him we wanted to get a drink at the bar first, so he seated us there. The bar only has 2 tables and a few stools and we were the only ones there. Should be easy to get a drink, right? WRONG! The young female bartender was chatting with another woman (appeared she might work there, too) and never looked our way once. My husband finally went to the bar and asked about getting a drink. She was extremely rude and said "well, Dana seated you". Does that mean Dana was suppose to get our drinks? Needless to say, we decided this was not the place for us. We told Dana why we were leaving - his staff appeared much to busy to wait on us. He didn't apologize or even seem concerned. Simply nodded his head when my husband told him what happened. We ended up at the Sports Bar at Cadillac Jacks. Highly recommend this place. We ate there twice and had outstanding service, wonderful food and drinks at a great price.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gem Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing