We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Hill City, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a very nice resort. Not one if the large commercial ones in town but a very friendly comfortable place.The staff is always very accommodating go out of their way to make you stay enjoyable.If you do want to go down town shuttle service is there for you.The room are very nice comfortable beds.And my favorite you get a lucky duck in you bathroom.I use mine for luck at my favorite slots.Please go and enjoy yourselves. Linda Pini

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Linda,
Thank you so much for leaving this review for us. I'm sure glad you enjoy staying with us. I also love the ducks. It's amazing the variety that is available and we have a good time trying to find unique ducks for our rooms. I look forward to your next stay. Thanks again for taking the time!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    172
    62
    16
    7
See reviews for
128
228
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over Valentine's weekend. The place we usually stay was booked, so we thought we'd try this hotel out. It was a very pleasant surprise. The trolley came around the clock, so there was no worry about it being so far off main street. The rooms had just what you need (no fridge though), and they offer a free breakfast in the restaurant. The casino had new games and the bar had great drink specials! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are super happy you found us! Our best advertising is word of mouth, but accidentally stumbling upon us is good too. = )
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! Hopefully you can stay with us in the summer and enjoy our creek too. We do have small refrigerators available upon request and will have them in all rooms in 2015. That's one of our planned upgrades! Next time you stay though, be sure and ask for one and we will put one in your room prior to your arrival. Thank you again!
Kind Regards,
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hettinger, North Dakota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was the second time that my wife and i have stayed here. The second time was just as good as the first. The rooms are always clean and nice. The staff has always been very very kind. I will stay there again. This is where i will stay from now on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Great!! We would love to be your go to place in the Hills. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We pass on all reviews to our entire staff, they all thank you. We like our jobs and are glad it shows!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We generally stay at the Gulch when we go to Deadwood. Your staff has always been so accomodating and nice. Nice variety of machines, and the hot tub is sooooo relaxing. My husband and our Sisters and their husbands frequent Deadwood about 4 times a year and we generally all insist on staying at the Gulch. Usually there are 3 to 6 couples in our group but some times we are just 3 couples. We all enjoy our stay. Thanks again.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with an outside door and an inside door. Much more convient for me with my bad kne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We really appreciate such a wonderful review! Thank you so much! It's fun to have repeat guests, we all enjoy getting to know people and then seeing them again and again. We try to create a warm, friendly, home like environment so you can enjoy your vacation without any worries. It's nice to know we hit the mark. Take care and see you soon.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Room (king non-smoking) was VERY small for what you pay. I did like having access to the room from the parking lot. Trolly ride is about 5 minutes from main street. Not a bad room, but for the price, we will definately stay somewhere closer to the action next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm guessing you room was an end room. We do have 4 smaller rooms in the corners. I would love it if you'd give us another try and the opportunity to put you in one of our regular sized rooms. Possibly by the creek? I'm very glad you enjoyed the breakfast and I will be sure to pass on your compliment to the cooks. I sure hope you decide to stay with us again and thank you.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We always have the best of times at Deadwood Gulch! Fun gaming! Excellent service! Fabulous food! Tried the smoked blueberry ribs this time and they were amazing! Can't wait to go back! Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: My Husband smokes so we really like the outside entry rooms we can park right by. and I like the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Wonderful! So grateful for the review and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our second stay at the Deadwood Gulch and we would defnitely return. It is in a great location in Deadwood. While it is not directly downtown, it provides great access to the Mickelson Trail for hiking, biking or snowmobiling in the winter or whatever takes you outdoors. The trolley takes you downtown for $1 and is a nice option if you prefer not to drive after partaking. The restaurant located on the property is outstanding. Breakfast at the restaurant is free on a limited menu, but it's not a continental breakfast. The restaurant and hotel reside along side a beautiful creek.
The only reason I would not rate it 5 stars is simply due to comfort in the rooms. There is nothing extravagant about the beds or pillows, they are low end and not terribly comfortable.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the views, do not accept a room on the second floor facing the street, there are outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write the review for us. We appreciate it very much. Our location is very good when it comes to enjoying the beauty of the black hills. We love our creek too! It's a nice place to take a break during your work day. I appreciate the comments on the beds and pillows also, We have 20 more beds to switch out which we have now ordered. I will also check into the pillows. It's through our guests eyes that we improve so again, thank you for taking the time to point out both the good and bad so we can. Hope to see you again soon,
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Property: Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Address: 304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing