We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elks trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

A large group of Elk Lodge members arrived at the hotel and we all had our rooms within minutes. The hotel was well organized, polite and friendly. We made arrangements for the group and the casino sent a bus for us. We also got some nice discounts on food.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you! You were a fun group and we really enjoyed having you as our guest.
I'm sure glad you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful that you took the time to leave us this review and I hope you come back and visit us again.
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 719 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This fall I booked a FUN BUS from Deadwood Gulch Casino & Resort. The bus picked up 40 of us on a Friday and brought us back Sunday. The prices were so reasonable. Felt so good to not drive and just RELAX! The casino was AMAZING! We all had a blast with all the games and black jack table:) The rooms were clean and very cozy! The restraunt was fast and delicious! Staff was so welcoming and hospitable. Recieved a very warm welcome when we arrived and even cookies when we departed. Everyone was so pleased with their trips they were asking for another bus this spring!!! The Deadwood Gulch Casino & Resort is located in such a pretty area of Deadwood. The view from our hotel window was so serene and peacefull while we sipped coffee! Definately going back!!!! LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: The rooms are all so clean and nice! So much to do and see you probably won't be spending a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! It always seems like our bus groups enjoy themselves. Maybe it is for the reasons you mentioned...less stress! You seemed to really take advantage of what we have to offer...fantastic!! It's very nice to read your review, gives me a warm fuzzy feeling. Very glad to hear you all had such a great time.
See you in the spring!
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would like everyone to know how great and gracious this hotel and staff was. Two of us traveled from St. Paul/Mpls for 3 days and stayed at another place/motel. We lost power, next day the owner of the motel brought us down to Deadwood Gulch for hot food as they had electricity. We ended up stranded there. The first night stayed in the convention center, only 3 of us. The staff had to dig us out to get us back to the hotel. And it just went from there. I would like to really recognize Ryan, manager, Dave in maintenance, Doug, Alice, Melissa, Katie and Robby. They really took care of us, the 2nd night we got a great room from them, a hot meal, etc. They had people stuck there and people that were supposed to be there on Friday and did not get there until Sunday. This place made it a "WOW" experience. We will do this trip yearly and will be staying at Deadwood Gulch. Wonderful food, nice room and great employees, they made us feel "better" than family. Sorry it took so long to do the review, but it is well warranted!!!! They have bus groups that stay and other package deals. The people that stayed there we also a great bunch of folks.!! Again, thanks for everything you did for us. We even got ride back to the hotel your cars were stuck at by a Deadwood Gulch employee!!

Room Tip: We had a room with refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Well, I'm glad you were able to wait out the blizzard with us! It's so wonderful to hear such great feedback!
Even though I know how wonderful our team is, it still never ceases to amaze me!!! Some walked almost 3 miles in the snow to get here knowing they may have to stay multiple days to take care of all our guests. They left their burried homes without power to come here knowing we had a full house. Some slept on cots in the offices. Thanks to our staff, we had a completely working property during the blizzard.....again..AMAZING. I can't say enough wonderful about our incredible crew and it gives me great pleasure to be able to respond to your review by giving them accolades. Thank you for the ability to do that!!
You are too kind.
-Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great hotel, staff VERY friendly, room are nothing special but very clean. Went to the Restaurant for both breakfast and supper and it was very good. Casino staff where very friendly . They have parking next door for larger trailers which we had so that worked out great. The trolley bus that takes you downtown was a GREAT idea. Leave your car go for supper and drinks with NO worries. Only cost $1 ....... Just booked this hotel again for next August and cant wait !!!!

Room Tip: One side has a lift and the other doesnt so if you cant do stairs make sure you tell them when booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Wonderful! We love August in the hills, so happy you will be joining us.
Thank you much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. Since you will be visiting again, make sure you fill out a comment card with ideas for improvements also. We love hearing all the good stuff and we need to know what we can work harder on as well. Hope your 2014 is a banner year and we will see you in August.
Take care,
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Thought we would only be staying here one night, ended up staying three nights. It was such a serene, relaxing venue. Delicious breakfast in the morning, shuttle into town and then hitting the casino at night.

Our teenage son & daughter were not bored once while staying here...wooo, hooo!

Room Tip: Next to the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

You have us figured out!! That creek behind us is one of the hidden treasures in Deadwood. I'm so glad you enjoyed staying with us. There is so much to do within an hour drive time that we are the perfect place to sleep and unwind after a day of touring, snowmobiling, skiing, hiking, biking, etc. I hope you were able to watch a bit of the wildlife on property too. We even have a mountain lion occasionally check us out from accross the creek.
I'm really happy you were able to bring your entire family and that everyone had a good time and thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We really appreciate it!!!
Kind regards,
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Pleasantly surprised to find a nice room. Very large and clean. Some downfalls were that it was a non-smoking room, but had a smell of smoke or trying to mask the smoke. I'm no gambler and was only passing through Deadwood for one night so I found the lobby to be just too claustrophobic and overwhelming with the casino right there. Fortunately I could access the room without going through the lobby. Breakfast coupon was good and food was good, but service was slow. I'd stay again because the price was right and it was out of the Deadwood fray. Perfect for an overnight stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

during the recent blizzard my friends and I were abandoned at the gulch by the owner of the hotel we actually stayed at. long story short, the staff at the Deadwood Gulch were amazing and friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of. All of our things were at our hotel while we were stuck at the gulch for 3 days but like I said they were more concerned with our welfare then the owner of the hotel we stayed at. they found us a room that was so comfortable. my only complaint is I didn't get a rubber duckie. This is our new favorite place and will only stay here on our visits from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 26 in Deadwood
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 26 in Deadwood
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Resort

Address: 304 Cliff St, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: $53 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort HAS IT ALL! The Gulch features a 24-Hour Casino, Award-Winning Hotel, Creekside Restaurant and Convention Center. With on-site parking in a beautiful Black Hills setting and access to the Mickelson Trail for year-round outdoor activities we are your one-stop-shop when planning a vacation. We’re all about you. You want a creek? Got it. Hot tub? Towels are at the front desk. We aim to please for all of your events and needs. As two-time winner of our state’s Great Service Award and winner of TripAdvisor's 2011 - 2017 Certificate of Excellence, we invite you to come enjoy Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort. Award-winning property, award-winning staff, beautiful creek side setting…let our family serve yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Gulch Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing