We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, but we would stay there again. Everyone at the Deadwood Gulch was very friendly and nice. Small casino, but plenty of different games to play. Wait staff in casino was always around to offer a drink. Front desk people were always smiling. Loved the "Hot Seat" drawings each night!
Waitress, Katie, was amazing! Such a happy and entertaining waitress!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    156
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
114
203
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Deadwood Gulch for the 2012 Sturgis Rally. We were in room #101 with two doors, one that opened to the parking lot and the other that opened to the interior of the hotel. The room was huge with a comfortable king bed, microwave and refridgerator. Since we had a motorcycle, the fact that we had a door opening to the parking lot on the first floor was really convenient because we could keep an eye on the bike and the bike wash was right outside our door. Maid service was good and prompt. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant but the service was prompt. Breakfast was just basic but to me a good and basic breakfast is all I need. Everyone from the restaurant staff to the bar tenders and front desk were friendly and always helpful. As far as gaming, the casino is small and mostly just slots. There is one blackjack table, that I saw, and the night I wanted to play it was full. Not the hotel's fault but kind of a bummer. Basically, if you want to play table games you should go to a downtown casino. In addition, be aware that the hotel is not walking distance to downtown Deadwood. There is a convenient trolley that comes by throughout the day and the evening and runs until 2am. Once downtown it was easy to get a cab if you want to get home in a hurry. There were four of us and we ended up taking the trolley on the way to town and took a cab back each night. The cabbie charged $10 so it was reasonable. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you have a motorcycle make sure to stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogirl537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Myself and a group of friends spent 10 days at the Deadwood Gulch. My friends have come every year for 15 years to the resort. It was my first visit. We were on a motorcycle adventure form the chicagoland area. What was great is the resort is close to everything, downtown Deadwood, Mt Rushmore, Custer State park and Sturgis. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. Food and Bar were as easy as opening your door and taking a few steps. The Casino staff was fun and ready for a good time. I spend plenty of time at the Bar and the bartenders were exceptional. Tracy the general manager and her staff should be proud, this place is AWESOME!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the Bakery smell unbelievable, and mountain view rooms you can hear the stream flowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review for us. I am very proud to work with such a fantastic group of people here at Deadwood Gulch. We try to have fun and I'm glad it comes through to our guests. Hope you can make it back next year.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was my 4th time bringing a group out to Deadwood Gulch. I have never had a bad experience with the hotel, the casino or the employees at this facility. Working with Michelle Patino is like having her in the room right next to you. One phone call is all it ever takes to book the rooms, find out what is going on at the resort, and making special arrangements to make the group feel so special. I highly recommend this facility over any of the others in the area. For a stress free trip, contact Michelle

Room Tip: If you have handicapped people, ask for a ground floor room for them. It makes it easier for them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It's nice to see our efforts translate into a wonderful experience for your group. Michelle has been with us for a very long time and it's always nice to hear positive comments about her service. She can "get it done" that's for sure. Hope to see you and your group again soon.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently had a family reunion at the Deadwood Gulch. It took many months of planning and Michelle Patino was awesome in helping it turn out just as we wanted. All the staff was so helpful especially Arlette in the convention hall! We would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rolanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Arlet and Michelle are both wonderful! It's great to be able to work with such a fantastic group of people. I'm glad that it comes through in a positive experience to our guests such as yourselves. Thanks again!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Has to be the cleanest and friendliest place in Deadwood.
When we take a group to the Gulch, we receive nothing but great comments about the property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeriStarTransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you soo much! We enjoy taking care of groups and it's very kind of you to take the time to leave such nice comments.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I go out to the Black Hills almost every summer to see family. For about the past 14 years we have been staying at Deadwood Gulch in Deadwood for part or most of our trip. I have always really liked this hotel because they have a lot of fun activities and themed nights in the gambling room. Even before I was old enough to gamble I always liked the atmosphere and themes. I have seen a lot of changes in this hotel throughout the years but always enjoy my stay. My grandparents used to always request for us to have a room by the creek and it was always nice to leave the windows open. There is some great hiking in the area, the Mickelson Trail runs right in front (an old railroad turned trail) and people on the decks are always spotting wildlife on the steep slope just behind the hotel (where the creek is).

A trolly comes to the hotel frequently to bring people to downtown Deadwood and it is pretty cheap. They do not have a pool anymore (and haven't for several years) but they do have a nice hot tub!

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review, try requesting a room by the creek upon making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_Houser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Wow! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoy returning to us year after year. We'd like to think we have something special here with the creek and quiet. It's nice to hear you feel the same. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you next year.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Property: Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
Address: 304 Cliff St, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732-1398
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing