We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get.”
Review of Cedar Wood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Wood Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Too expensive for what you get.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is clean, I'll give it that. The rest of the story, rooms are very small. 24 is anyway. The bed is awful. My wife and I kept finding ourselves sunk into the middle. Very soft, low quality beds. The facial tissue is worthless. Blow your nose in your hand, it's going to end up there anyway. The toilet tissue is very low quality, bring your own. As for the "Continetal Breakfast", forget it. The coffee is weak, the "rolls" are small white, doughy, gummy, almost wet rolls that could only be described as gross. There was also a bran like muffen in the mix but I passed on that. What ever happened to at least serving toast? Can't say as I'd stay here again even at a much lower price.

Room Tip: This place has a fair amount of traffic noise as it's located right on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    28
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was disappointed in this hotel after reading the positive reviews, so I felt compelled to give my opinion. Our room was not around the cute courtyard shown on their website, but was in a separate building off the parking lot, attached to a 3 car garage that must be owned by the hotel owners. The positives: clean room with basic hotel amenities, hotel was quiet, off the main drag and didn't have a casino which is what we preferred. The negatives: the room with 2 queen beds was very small for our family of 4 and all our bags. The 70's decor is outdated rather than retro. The beds were uncomfortable and the towels were very worn. Our room's window opened onto the parking lot driveway where our car was parked.
I was happy to get a lower rate at check in than I was quoted after I mentioned the advertised price on their sign out front, however I didn't find the gal at the counter overly helpful or friendly and I'm not sure if she was an owner or not.
Hoping that my comments will give someone else an accurate account if looking into staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the courtyard.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank krankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon M, Owner at Cedar Wood Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I am truly sorry your experience was unsatisfactory. We do have a sign posted on the front of the main complex encouraging room inspections of our units. Had you mentioned to us you did not like your room location and size we would have gladly moved you to a larger courtyard area room. Please understand my wife and I strive to address concerns of our guests and to make their stay pleasurable, but are unable to when our guest do not bring it to our attention.

Best regards,
Gordon Mack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hmmm.... not sure what all the high ratings are all about for this place. I'm going to start with the bottom line... this motel has $50 rooms but they charge $100 for them. Seriously... we were in room 25... this is not a big room... it consists of a queen bed (a very cheap TOO SOFT mattress), 2 padded desk chairs, a mounted flat screen tv, and a tiny but efficient bathroom. That's it folks... no fridge, no table, no comfy chairs or couch... and for sure, NO VIEW. Did I say TINY room? The room seemed very dark with very small windows, the main one blocked by an A/C unit. C'mon... what's up with all the raves about the owners? I'm not there for socializing with them, ok? Apparently it's very pet friendly... lots of dogs in the central common area. Seriously... I want a GOOD motel room! This one did NOT qualify. And... gotta be honest... Deadwood seemed like just another tourist trap wanting my gambling dollars. If I wanted Vegas, I'd go there. I suppose if you're a Sturgis biker who's been on the open road for a few days, this place might seem like heaven... but sorry... I'm soooo not impressed. It was barely OK... enuf said. Would NOT recommend this to any of my friends... just say'n.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florida_ratingsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon M, Owner at Cedar Wood Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are sorry the Cedar Wood Inn did not live up to your expectations. My wife and I for 17 years treat our establishment like home because it is home for us and try to make it feel like home for our traveling guest. We have taken your concerns seriously and will address them the best way possible.

Gordon Mack
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We made our reservation for 2 nights far in advance and were so glad we chose this spot. We had never been to the area before and knew nothing. If you stayed downtown, you would have problems with parking and noise.... The Cedar Wood Inn was clean, quiet and the owners are delightful. Yes, the rooms are small by todays standards, but very comfortable with everything you need. They seem to really care.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We looked at stayed in the center of town, but the first few hotels we went in to were a little noisy and stunk of smoke. We drove a few minutes out and found this little gem. The owners were delightful and they do take care and pride in the hotel. We stayed in a room separate from the hotel - very large room with a huge bathroom. The rooms were clean and very quiet, considering they were on the main drag in to town. The owners were very accommodating with any requests we had and a wealth of information. Highly recommend this over other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A very nice privately owned hotel. Extremely clean and a very friendly and helpful staff that made for a great experience. Great to see a privately run motel can still flourish! I would suggest this to anyone that wants to try something out of the corporate norm, this is a 50/60's style motel but updated with flat screens, wifi and carefully maintained to great standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futbolcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay. The condition of the property and the rooms indicated a great amount of care and pride of ownership went into upkeep. I have read other reviews about how friendly the husband and wife owners are and I would greatly agree regarding the husband, but found the wife a bit cold. Maybe she was having a bad day. In any case, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playasrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hickok House
Best Western Hickok House
#20 of 24 in Deadwood
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Wood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Wood Inn

Property: Cedar Wood Inn
Address: 103 Charles St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1304
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Wood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cedar Wood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing