We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go back in time with Costner at Midnight Star”
Review of The Midnight Star

The Midnight Star
Ranked #3 of 14 Fun & Games in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of 80 gaming halls in Deadwood, this one is owned by Kevin Costner.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Go back in time with Costner at Midnight Star”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Etched glass, rubbed wood and brass welcome you as you gamble, gawk, shop, drink or dine at the Midnight Star on historic Main Street in Deadwood. The "classy casino on the first floor welcomes you to this establishment. Then take the grand staircase to the second floor where the Kevin Costner memorabilia starts. Costumes from 23 movies and posters and photos cover the walls. Jakes restaurant is on the top floor with fine dining - looked very nice. We stopped at Diamond Lil's bar and grill on the second floor and had a very good lunch reasonably priced with friendly service. There is a stairway from Main st. that goes straight up to Diamond Lil's if you don't want to go through the casino lobby which has elevator and staircase.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottieMom849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    16
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kevin Costner's pictures abound”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place had a rather subdued atmosphere when we visited. There weren't many people inside. The service was good but it didn't feel like a fun place so we didn't stay long but it was OK I guess. It is kind of dark inside too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Casino and the food!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went on a family vacation to Deadwood SD, and went to the Midnight Star casino, owned by Kevin Costner, on the recommendation from our RV park host. The food was good and not over priced like a lot of the other places around town. The place was clean and service was good! We enjoyed looking around at all the movie memorabilia from Costner's films.
On another note, my wife and I both won money in the Casino!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrfast120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, WY
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped in Memorial Day weekend. One of the male dealers (Travis?), had the grumpiest attitude. It's no fun losing while gambling but its even worse when you have a dealer with a bad attitude. Ladies were very nice but this guy was such a jerk I left my husband there and went elsewhere to gamble.
Also, there was only one bartender servicing up and down so it took awhile to get drinks. Takes the fun out of gambling when you have to run down to get a drink.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped in for some quick gambling before dinner in Deadwood, but were reallt disappointed. I'm not sure of the gaming laws in SD, but it seems that all the casinos only have slots, blackjack, and poker. But even with that limitation, there were only 2 tables upstairs which weren't open. And the slot machines were lousy- on many machines the average "win" was less than an average bet, and the jackpot amounts were really low. What's the point of playing if there's no chance of winning much?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianE1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Midnight Star also viewed

 

Been to The Midnight Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing