We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved my stay at the Super 8”
Review of Super 8 Deadwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Deadwood
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I loved my stay at the Super 8”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

As a solo traveler, I felt very safe and comfortable at the Deadwood Super 8. Virginia made me feel very welcome (she remembered me from a year ago) and made certain I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontanaPam21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    216
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
260
339
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

When we got there we noticed that the pool was empty (because it was being resurfaced) but the hot tub was full. We couldn't use the hot tub the next afternoon because the floor was re-done and it was drying. I just wonder why this wasn't done during the off season. It was a let down not being able to use these. They took $30 off our bill for 2 nights but it would have been a lot nicer to have the pool and hot tub working.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We go to Deadwood yearly and almost every year have stayed at the Super 8. The only time we didn't was that they were full during the time we wanted. They are great. The service is great. The motel is great. the breakfast is wonderful. We love it there and plan to continue staying there during our yearly trip.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms create a real relaxing atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grammakelly1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Pretty standard super 8. Very cheap only beaten in price by hotels in Deadwood that you wouldn't put your dog in.
Staff were very friendly and the place was very clean. Free breakfast which does the job.
Very strong smell of smoke in the hallways as some of the rooms allow smoking. Make sure you ask for 2nd floor room. There was a bit of noise from people walking around above us. A long walk from town but it is serviced by the town trollley.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I've stayed at this property a number of times. I've stayed a few times elsewhere in Deadwood as well, and in my opinion, the Super 8 can't be beat. The rooms are quite small, and perhaps wouldn't be ideal for families of 4, but the rooms are cozy and definitely perfect for smaller families. The prices are always great, and even better are the staff and the view.

The staff is always friendly, especially Virginia and Candy at the front. I'm always greeted warmly and sincerely, and they're always willing to help with whatever question/problem you bring to them.

The view of the creek is just amazing, especially in the spring when it's full and running fast. It's beautiful, and I love the sound as well...throw open the window and enjoy. Also, the Mickelson Trail is just behind the creek and easily accesible from the hotel, as there is a bridge across the creek right at the end of the hotel's property.

The key is to get a room on the creek-side of the hotel - if you get a room on the other side, it'll just be a normal view onto the road/parking lot. Make sure to get a creek-side room if at all possible (some bed types make this impossible: I believe all the 2-bed rooms are on the road-side), and 2nd floor is best for a better view down onto the water.

Overall I always enjoy staying at this hotel. For some people it may be a little far from main street deadwood (about a mile) considering the parking issues if you drive there. But the trolley stops at the hotel frequently, if you don't want to drive down there. Otherwise I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a creek-side room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fanliorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Just because it's their cancellation policy, doesn't make it right. Had a room reserved during the rally but had to cancel. How about a 158.00 cancellation charge for two nights? I'm sure they had the room reserved to someone else just after I cancelled. Hey, it's Deadwood during the rally. That room didn't sit empty. Highway Robbery at the Super 8 in Deadwood.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FXDL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinlizzie100, Manager at Super 8 Deadwood, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Our rally cancellation policy was listed when the reservation was made. In addition, it is also listed when a deposit letter was mailed to the customer. They signed and returned the letter agreeing to the terms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed two nights in the presidential suite. A nice room with a large bed that 4 kids could sleep in and a smaller bed for the two adults. Casino was nice with the highest % payback in deadwood. Pool was really nice being 9ft deep. The older kids liked that. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool. Our room was right above the front desk and at one point during our stay, one of the smaller kids had fell and started crying. The front desk called and said that they could hear everything and that another guest had complained. There wasn't even a room close to us so no other guest could of heard us. Another bad setup they had was that to get to the casino, you had to walk right by the pool where the floor was wet from kids jumping in. The lady that worked in the daytime was really nice it was just the one at night that complained. Except for those bad things, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricelakewisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Deadwood

Property: Super 8 Deadwood
Address: 196 Cliff St, Hwy 85 South, Deadwood, SD 57732-1378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Deadwood 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Super Eight Deadwood
Deadwood Super 8
Deadwood Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing