We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal!”
Review of Super 8 Deadwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Deadwood
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Pretty standard super 8. Very cheap only beaten in price by hotels in Deadwood that you wouldn't put your dog in.
Staff were very friendly and the place was very clean. Free breakfast which does the job.
Very strong smell of smoke in the hallways as some of the rooms allow smoking. Make sure you ask for 2nd floor room. There was a bit of noise from people walking around above us. A long walk from town but it is serviced by the town trollley.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 840 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

I've stayed at this property a number of times. I've stayed a few times elsewhere in Deadwood as well, and in my opinion, the Super 8 can't be beat. The rooms are quite small, and perhaps wouldn't be ideal for families of 4, but the rooms are cozy and definitely perfect for smaller families. The prices are always great, and even better are the staff and the view.

The staff is always friendly, especially Virginia and Candy at the front. I'm always greeted warmly and sincerely, and they're always willing to help with whatever question/problem you bring to them.

The view of the creek is just amazing, especially in the spring when it's full and running fast. It's beautiful, and I love the sound as well...throw open the window and enjoy. Also, the Mickelson Trail is just behind the creek and easily accesible from the hotel, as there is a bridge across the creek right at the end of the hotel's property.

The key is to get a room on the creek-side of the hotel - if you get a room on the other side, it'll just be a normal view onto the road/parking lot. Make sure to get a creek-side room if at all possible (some bed types make this impossible: I believe all the 2-bed rooms are on the road-side), and 2nd floor is best for a better view down onto the water.

Overall I always enjoy staying at this hotel. For some people it may be a little far from main street deadwood (about a mile) considering the parking issues if you drive there. But the trolley stops at the hotel frequently, if you don't want to drive down there. Otherwise I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a creek-side room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fanliorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Just because it's their cancellation policy, doesn't make it right. Had a room reserved during the rally but had to cancel. How about a 158.00 cancellation charge for two nights? I'm sure they had the room reserved to someone else just after I cancelled. Hey, it's Deadwood during the rally. That room didn't sit empty. Highway Robbery at the Super 8 in Deadwood.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank FXDL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinlizzie100, Manager at Super 8 Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Our rally cancellation policy was listed when the reservation was made. In addition, it is also listed when a deposit letter was mailed to the customer. They signed and returned the letter agreeing to the terms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed two nights in the presidential suite. A nice room with a large bed that 4 kids could sleep in and a smaller bed for the two adults. Casino was nice with the highest % payback in deadwood. Pool was really nice being 9ft deep. The older kids liked that. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool. Our room was right above the front desk and at one point during our stay, one of the smaller kids had fell and started crying. The front desk called and said that they could hear everything and that another guest had complained. There wasn't even a room close to us so no other guest could of heard us. Another bad setup they had was that to get to the casino, you had to walk right by the pool where the floor was wet from kids jumping in. The lady that worked in the daytime was really nice it was just the one at night that complained. Except for those bad things, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ricelakewisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights - August 23 & 24th- they were very nice about changing our room from a queen smoking in the front of the hotel by the road to a king smoking in the back of the hotel by the creek - we did pay the extra charges. The first night of the hotel was fine - they offer a free personal pan pizza from the pizzeria on site after one hour of gambling. There was only one person working in the pizzeria and it took a 1/2 hour to get the pizza - and it wasn't cooked long enough - in fact we each only ate 1/2 of our pizza's and didn't feel so well in the a.m. The continental breakfast - just basic- toast - cereal & boiled eggs. The second night - we got back to the room around 5pm - we don't use the comforter - so we turned the bed down to the sheets to find about 5 blood spots on our sheets! How can anyone make a king size bed (or any size for that matter) and not see blood stains? We called the front desk - they came to the door with a new sheet- we changed it ourselves and took pictures of the bloody sheet. Upon checking out - we mentioned to the desk clerk the sheet issue - she acted as if she didn't hear us - so we asked again and she finally responded she couldn't do anything without talking to a manager - and if they could make any adjustments they would. We just found it pretty bad they would re-use bloody stained sheets over again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinlizzie100, Manager at Super 8 Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

We always appreciate customer comments it is our goal to make each customers experience the best we have to offer. After reading this customer’s comments I talked with housekeeping who informed me that this room was a stay over and that the sheets were the same sheets as the night before and there were no issues the previous night. Our motel has always kept a very high standard in our cleanliness, we always consistently receive a 9+ rating out of 10 for our housekeeping and in 2002 we won the prestigious Pineapple award for housekeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We spent one night there. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was good and I would recommend eating out on the deck as it was especially nice with the creek flowing down behind.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. At first, we weren't sure about whether we should stay here or pay over $100 for the places downtown. We are so glad we didn't! Our room was clean, new, and a good size. We were on the river/ravine side and we could hear the babbling brook the whole time. It was very nice. The casino was great! We had free drinks and ate for free at the pizzeria inside the casino. It was surprisingly good food--highly recommended. There was also a free breakfast and a nice breakfast room. Everyone there (except the front desk attendant) was very helpful and friendly. If you are planning a trip to Deadwood, save your money for the slots and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agdwsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 25 in Deadwood
550 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Deadwood

Address: 196 Cliff St, Hwy 85 South, Deadwood, SD 57732-1378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: $51 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Deadwood 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Super Eight Deadwood
Deadwood Super 8
Deadwood Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing