We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Pampered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie House Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prairie House Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Totally Pampered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was driving through South Dakota and decided to stay over in De Smet. The room I requested was undergoing some remodeling, so the owners gave me a free upgrade to the "Japanese Garden" jacuzzi suite. I felt totally pampered with 10 pillows on the bed, marvelously plush towels, and raspberry-stuffed pancake puffs for breakfast. The owners were as welcoming as could be, and everything was comfortable and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying in this B&B. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and Jenny and Andy were accommodating to dietary needs. We stayed in the "Heres My Heart Room" and it was very cozy and comfortable. Jenny and Andy went out of their way to explain were we could find different sites such as restaurants and stores. The B&B provided an atmosphere conducive to relaxation. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody considering a trip to DeSmet

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Once we rang the doorbell, Andy & Jenny greeted us with a warm smile which immediately put us at ease. They were very friendly and helpful and made sure we felt at home. We stayed in the "Here's my heart" room for two nights. The place was Immaculately clean, and bed very comfortable. Jenny's breasfast's was simply phenomenal, one you always hope for, but rarely experience. Very enjoyable and fond menories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you're traveling to De Smet to visit the Laura Ingalls Wilder sites, consider this B&B as a pleasant place to stay overnight. We were 3 friends traveling together and they had a room with 3 beds which made it very comfortable. Each room has it's own bath too. Very comfortable living room, big enclosed front porch with comfortable furniture and a nice dining area which was being used during the day be a couple of quilting ladies. Excellent breakfast offering 3 different menu choices. We 3 all agreed it was a very friendly, relaxing, and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived in De Smet in the late afternoon on a Friday. As soon as we walked into the inn, the aroma of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies greeted us as Jenny warmly welcomed us. We stayed in a cozy room, clean and quiet. The homemade selections for breakfast caused us to linger for over 1/2 hour in the breakfast room. Andy engaged us in conversation while serving Jenny's fabulous hot breakfast. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Prairie House Manor on the last two days of our 12 days vacation. We stayed in the Forever Blossoms room. It was a GREAT room. When we came in peanut butter and strawberry cupcakes & fresh hand squeezed lemonade were waiting for us. There was also a cappuccino machine in the kitchen as well as coffee and tea for you to access whenever you choose. Our room was awesome! The bed was so comfortable. It was probably the best night of sleep I had in a long, long time. There was a microwave and refrigerator in our room which was great with a 1 1/2 year old who needed a bottle (milk) and some snacks (applesauce). There was also a private entrance and Jacuzzi in this room. The clock radio was one that had an iPod charger on it. The chair in the corner was comfortable. There were restaurant recommendations in the room as well as some books. Everyone was so nice when coming in and out, there seemed to always be someone hanging out in the comfortable family room. The breakfast was fantastic. Jenny is an awesome cook! The first day we had the blueberry cheesecake pancakes...oh my goodness!!!!!!! The baby loved the little man pancakes and sausage. The fruit they served with breakfast was yummy! The second morning we had hash brown casserole, toast and muffins with fruit. Also...amazing. The hosts were so hospitable and gracious! It was really neat visiting with them and hearing their story about how they got to De Smet. Overall, a wonderful experience! Will definitely stay there again if we ever get to go back. Also, there is a park just down from the B & B (with the statue of Father Desmet) that is a great park for kids. We spent quite a bit of time the two days we were there and it was a nice, nice place! The people of the community that we encountered were all so friendly and seemed grateful for tourists. We love De Smet! =)

Room Tip: Forever Blossoms room seemed away from the other rooms so when our baby cried in the night, it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Andy and Jenny were gracious hosts! Children are welcome. They even have children's toys on the enclosed front porch. They had cookies and lemonade at night for guests. We could choose from 4 different breakfast items on a menu the night before. All selections came with fresh fruit.They're conveniently located 3 doors from the Ingall's house. They had menus of local restaurants and we went wih Andy's reccommendation for dinner at a reasonably priced casual country club. After dinner we took the walking tour of the neighborhood. Our queen sized bed with a pillow top mattress was very comfortable. We had a small refrigerator in our room. I'd definitely reccommend this home to families or couples coming to "The Little Town on the Prairie". I believe they had pool passes, but we didn't try the pool.

Room Tip: The house is on a corner. Our room faced the street, but there was no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Smet
0.3 mi away
De Smet Super Deluxe Inn & Suites
21.0 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#1 of 2 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie House Manor

Property: Prairie House Manor
Address: 209 Sd Highway 25 S, Rr 2 Box 61a, De Smet, SD 57231-2288
Location: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing