We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great historic building”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prairie House Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

On a recent trip, I wanted to spend one night at a historic bed and breakfast. We chose the Prairie House Manor, and stayed in the Forever Blossoms room. It had a king sized bed, along with a murphy bed in the main room. There was an smaller attached room with a two-person jacuzzi and a futon. One thing we didn't expect was the bathroom. It was inside of the room, without a full wall. The wall is open at the top, so there isn't a lot of privacy (you can't see in there, but you can hear everything). This bathroom area, with a toilet and shower, is a very small area. The common areas include a playroom, which my girls enjoyed. Breakfast was awesome! The owners are great, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Momma_Dukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

we went to De Smet to visit the Little Town on the Prairie so staying in this B & B which had been "banker Ruth's house" was a part of our tour. We had the Japanese room on the main level. The house has been beautifully restored; the only addition is the breakfast room. The wide verandah has a pool table and games for children. Our room had a hot tub, which we did not use since we were there during the heat wave. The private bathroom and shower had very little counter space but otherwise the room was lovely. It had a small fridge, microwave, and Wifi. There was a key to lock the door to the room. Breakfast menu choices were provided for guests to complete the evening prior. Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifestartsat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast and we were very impressed! We stayed in the Japanese Garden room which has a queen bed and a private jacuzzi. The room was adorable with beautiful decorations and lots of attention to detail. We loved the little touches like Japanese Cherry Blossom lotions in the bathroom and scrapbooks with pictures and info about Japan in the corner. The bed was very comfortable-- my husband and I both have bad trouble and consequently are very fussy about the bed we sleep on, and we both thought the matress was great. The Jacuzzi was slightly cooler than expected so if you would like it hot, turn the temp up well before you expect to go in-- we were just too impatient to wait. The room had a small vanity with a chair in the corner for getting ready in the morning which I loved, a small flat screen television and mini fridge and microwave. Also free wi-fi was available. Breakfast was fantastic-- I was a little disappointed the night before that fruit was not on the menu, but was pleasantly surprised when the hosts gave us a dish of fruit to start in the morning! :) During breakfast we listened to a CD of songs performed on Charles Ingalls' (Pa from the Little House books) fiddle (which is still tuned regularly and kept at the museum in Mansfield, MO.) We didn't spend much time socializing with other guests/our hosts, but we did notice that the porch appeared very comfortable and inviting, with a pool table available for adult use and a set of Little House books available for reading. (Not to mention tourist brochures relevant to the area and other games/toys/reading material...) We only stayed one night but would have enjoyed staying one more night for time to chat on the porch with other guests and take advantage of the pool table.

The Laura Ingalls Wilder tour in town was facinating for anyone who is/was a fan of the books. Our tour guide was a woman named Lavonne (not sure how to spell that...) and she was fantastic. Very knowledgeable not only about the Ingalls/Wilder families but also the area since she has lived her whole life in the area and her father was born on a farm outside of town.

All in all we had a great visit and would absolutely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Wonderful! The room was a little small, but the bathroom was HUGE! Nice selection of things to do like games, movies, etc. Nice breakfast, and is very close to downtown and the other things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woohoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Andy and Jenny were excellent hosts. The house is very nicely decorated and clean. The rooms are very nice. My kids really enjoyed staying in their first B&B.
The breakfast was very good and homemade not from a box. I definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The best part of our De Smet experience was the Prairie House Manor. We stayed in the Forever Blossoms room. It has an adjoining private porch complete with jacuzzi hot tub. The rooms were cozy, tastefully decorated and full of old world charm. The flat screen TV is a nice added touch, as well as the full size murphy bed.

Probably the best feature though is the wonderful couple, Andy and Jenny Todd and their young family who own and operate the B&B. They are gracious hosts who had us feeling we had become quick friends in our brief stay.

I rate this as the best attraction in De Smet. The Ingalls homestead and historical places notwithstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shniglefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is a very nice Inn owned by Andy and Jenny Todd. It is a nice house with full accomodations, and knowledgable and friendly hosts.

Our room was small but with a full in room bath. There was a TV and fridge in the room.

The home is very warm and welcoming. There is a game room with pool table.

The owners were very knowlegable regarding local Laura Ingalls Wilder sites. Their daughter is in the local L.I.W. pageant.

Breakfast was very good and hearty and filling.

I can recommend this place without reservation.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinmdpedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prairie House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie House Manor

Address: 209 Sd Highway 25 S, Rr 2 Box 61a, De Smet, SD 57231-2288
Location: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range: $89 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing