We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, historical place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in De Smet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 De Smet B&B and Inns
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Nice, historical place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here on a recent visit to De Smet in order to visit the Laura Ingalls Homestead with our daughter and her friend. We found the bed and breakfast to be very convenient (walking distance to some Ingalls activities), very clean, family friendly and a decent value. We enjoyed our hosts, Kim and Carl and are very impressed with the work they did to restore this historical building. The breakfast was good and the room was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington Island, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A wonderful restored bank converted to a beautiful B & B. It took kim and Carl years of restoration work to bring this old bank into a lovely Victorian building. Hostess, Kim, was just like family. Our room was very comfortable and we were provided with a delicious breakfast. It was just a short drive to Laura Ingalls Wilder homestead. The town of De Smet, South Dakota is small but quaint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in Laura's Loft with our 3 young daughters and loved our stayed at the Heritage House. We loved the history of the building, comfortable beds, great hospitality, and delicious breakfast. The perfect spot for our visit to De Smet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbhutzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were so thankful this was our hotel when we arrived in De Smet! What a nice job restoring this building. There really isn't anything comparable in this tiny town. The rooms were much nicer in person than the photos on the internet. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great! My family really enjoyed our night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanK916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

What a find! This beautifully restored building is in the tiny town of De Smet within minutes of the Laura Ingalls Wilder houses. The owner was friendly and everything was immaculate. Our suite was perfect - large and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slklvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandia MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

The bathroom was immaculate! The whole suite was immaculate! Good water pressure. I have asthma, so I have a very sensitive nose and there were NO musty, old building smells at all and the rooms were NOT perfumed to cover odors. Most of all the beds were nice and firm not bumpy and soggy the bed smelt clean and crisp. The windows open so you can get a nice breeze if you would like. It felt like a step back in time, the woodwork was really cool.. The furniture, old style but very comfortable. Cable TV and Internet made it nice in the evenings. We did'nt have dinner but the Chicken smelt so GOOOOD... I know my nose liked it!! Loved th e place, loved it, loved it... We will go back...

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite with sitting room and loft with 3 bed more for kids or teens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 577Whataday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZIRCONIA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This historic bank building where the Ingalls family had accounts is a fabulous place to stay in the little town of De Smet, SD. It has been remodeled and decorated in the style appropriate to the era, and we just loved it. Perhaps the Ingalls family's savings were kept in the huge safe that is still visible on the ground floor. Who knows? It is such fun to imagine what the building was like during the late 1800s. All of De Smet is historic and we so enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are upstairs, and we thought ours was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordie60742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these De Smet hotels
0.4 mi away
De Smet Super Deluxe Inn & Suites
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 126 Calument Avenue, P.O. Box 123, De Smet, SD 57231
Location: United States > South Dakota > De Smet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Smet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing