We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My boys and girl loved this!”

Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in De Smet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My boys and girl loved this!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a lot more time than we had planned here. Everyone had such a good time that it was hard to leave! My husband loved the farm implements and learning how to make rope. The children loved the school house experience, pony rides, making the "button on a string" toy and washing clothes and hanging them on the line! There was so much to see and do, not to mention calves, kittens, ponies, and more. Everyone that worked there was friendly and really wanted to involve the children. We learned a lot from the exhibits and from the staff. It was definitely a highlight of our trip to South Dakota.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    40
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Laura Ingalls Wilder homestead”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we drove into the parking lot, I thought....wow...we drove 75 miles out of the way for this? But, after the tour was done I was very impressed! They do a good job showing what life was like on the prairie for Laura and her family. Our grandchildren enjoyed the stop; 10 year old granddaughter would have stayed much longer!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamsAmbers_Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful day for the whole family”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We set aside 2 hours for this and misjudged how enjoyable and how much there was to do. I have a tendancy to get bored, but the homestead had a round robin of stands each with its own bit of history with an entertaining and happy presenter at each.
The children were either dressed up in period costumes and formed part of the presentation or they learnt how to make rope, ride a buggy or make toys out of corn! A wonderful attraction.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bard72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must for fans of the show”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are a fan of the TV show or books, this will make you like the series even more. The site has been recreated to what it was like during Laura's childhood with a house, barn, church, school, etc. The entire place is in excellent condition. There are activities for children. The staff was polite, friendly and genuine. The gift store has a wonderful selection. We tent-camped one night for $10. Water and electricity are available, but not at the tent sites. The bathroom/shower for campers is in very good condition.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSWIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pioneering life comes alive”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the Ingalls homestead but that is all that is really tied to Laura Ingalls Wilder. However, for family with kids, it is a fun and informative place to learn about early pioneering life. Activities such as a wagon ride and sitting in school makes for an interesting day. This is a great place for wholesome fun for families rather than a pilgrimage for LIW fans.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWanderer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie also viewed

 
South Dakota, United States
 

Been to Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing