We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
22
26
21
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
26
21
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laura ingalls ac worked well toaster waffles room was clean and comfortable nice place to stay person suite homestay wilder liw
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We were unsure when the guy called us at 5 to ask if we were still coming. We couldn't get there til 8 and the parking lot was empty! It's old and doesn't have extra features but our room was clean and the shower worked fine. King bed and pillows were comfortable. It was close to all the LIW sites we were visiting.
Skip the poor attempt at continental breakfast. Go to Wards at 2nd and Calumet for a delicious breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Our stay was very pleasant. The room was very clean, so was the bathroom; the AC worked well; there were lighter weight blankets if needed. The pool was clean and very comfortably warm. I wish their breakfast had offered some gluten free options but there was certainly plenty available. We enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank HokieWolfpackMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Came from Minnesota to visit the Laura Ingalls Wilder sites. This is pretty much your only option for lodging in the town unless you are camping. I have to agree with some of the other reviews with regards to the overall look and feel of this hotel. It is obviously privately owned. We had a suite that holds 6, which it did, but the set up was kinda quirky. It was a long room with a queen, 2 singles and a sofa couch. If you see the pictures of the Queen suite it is exactly like the pictures-no wall separation at all. kinda funny because you have 2 TV's in the room but because of the size and nothing separating the space you could never really watch both at the same time. The room itself was pretty clean but definitely not spotless and definitely lacking in amenities. It is a 6 person suite and we were provided with 1 hand towel, 3 wash cloths, and 4 bath towels. 1 tiny bar of soap and no shampoo. One has to assume this cant be the norm-maybe it was a busy weekend and housekeeping forgot to restock the room? The fridge and microwave was a nice to have and the beds were comfortable. Another strange thing was they had large sleep number pillows on a couple of the beds, but they were kinda yellow dirty and were uncovered with no pillow cases.Thought that was goofy and kinda unsanitary..like the towel situation, maybe they were being washed? The overall feel of the lobby and the breakfast areas was that it was chaotic and filled with clutter. The common spaces were not very clean, hallways, doors, windows etc. The kids in our group did use the pool but it did have a dingy green color and they found a dead little frog in the hot tub!! Appreciated the breakfast but it was just ok -also the display of foods was also strange, everything served from covered totes on long tables. All carb type foods-cereal, breads, toaster waffles and toaster french toast. No fresh fruit, yogurt or any hot food options at all. It was fine for us as we wanted something quick with the kids before heading out for our day. Overall it was a fine place to stay for a short visit. It was extremely close to all of the activities and things we wanted to see and do. The staff seemed down to earth and friendly. So if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay for a short time with basic amenities, I would recommend. Just remember to bring your own shampoo and your own fruit:)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sammieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Overall, the room was fine - clean, the beds were not too hard or too soft. The AC unit didn't work as well as we had hoped and it was a bit warm in the room. The breakfast was very carb heavy - breads, pop tarts, cereals. But for what we needed and expected, it was a fine place to stay. The desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celestesauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Smelly room. Pillows yellow. Gave kids .25 per fly killed. Ran out of quarters. Toilet was backed up. They handed me a plunger. Floor and sheets felt damp. Brkfst = Poptarts. Dollar store pastries. Bread. Cancelled 2nd night and drove to Brookings.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews