We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete waste of time and money”

Crazy Horse Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the culture, tradition and living heritage of the North American Indians. The Foundation demonstrates its commitment to this endeavor by continuing the progress on the world's largest sculptural undertaking by carving a memorial of Lakota leader Crazy Horse; by providing educational and cultural programming; by acting as a repository for American Indian artifacts, arts and crafts through the INDIAN MUSEUM OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and the NATIVE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL & CULTURAL CENTER(R); and by establishing and operating the INDIAN UNIVERSITY OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and, when practical, a medical training center for American Indians.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Complete waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited Crazy Horse today and would honestly not recommend it to anyone. $10.00 a person and then they try to charge your for a bus ride to the sculpture. Highly recommend Mount Rushmore over this anyway!! After 15 minutes we were bored stiff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Corrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,601
    840
    480
    295
    257
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It is something to see, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Considering there has been some 60-odd years of work into this memorial, it is sad to see only the face is finished. I think I can safely say this memorial will not be finished in my lifetime. I appreciate there is a belief about not accepting government funds for this memorial, but at some point, is it not more important to complete it? I appreciate the vision of this memorial is to be a Native American education centre, but it is still so far from that after all these years. If you go, know your money goes towards the project, but I'm not sure if it is money well spent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzedanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
339 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Must See Crazy Horse Memorial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were quite taken by the ongoing Crazy Horse Memorial project. Just a day after visiting Mt. Rushmore, not once, but twice, we ventured from Hill City to Custer in search of Crazy Horse. The project can be seen for miles around, in the beautiful forested Black Hills area about 40 minutes from Rapid City. We were in Sturgis for the big bike rally. We were joined by hundreds of bikers, and tourists alike. The story is quite inspiring, mostly that it is completely privately funded. All I can say is to visit, and please donate what you can to the project.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank golfkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Truly amazing; don't miss the video presentation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

After visiting Mount Rushmore, our travelling companions wanted to see the Crazy Horse Memorial. I had been somewhat lukewarm about it based upon what I had heard from some other friends. I'm very glad we went, however. We did not opt for the extra bus trip to the base of the mountain, but stayed near the visitor center as our companions had their two dogs with them. The sheer scale of the project is amazing. It's huge - taller than the Washington Monument. The video is truly excellent telling the story of the project and the sculptor and his family in personal and passionate terms. It is a work very much still in progress with many years yet to complete. Admission was a little steep I thought ($10 per person or $27 per car load), but this is a fully privately financed project (no federal of state funds!) and is totally financed by admissions and gifts, so we actually truly helped the project along. If you choose to go, DO NOT MISS the video. If you simply want to see the work to date, it can be seen somewhat from US-385 / SD-16 which runs just outside the gate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Beach, New York, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A WASTE of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The crazy horse memorial is an enormous waste of time and $10. The memorial is far from complete and the "museum" will bore you to tears. The black hills are awesome and have so many breathtaking things to see. This is NOT one of them. Take the $10 and spend it at Boyd's antique/junk yard down the road. You'll come away far happier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Horse Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing