We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Horse”

Crazy Horse Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the culture, tradition and living heritage of the North American Indians. The Foundation demonstrates its commitment to this endeavor by continuing the progress on the world's largest sculptural undertaking by carving a memorial of Lakota leader Crazy Horse; by providing educational and cultural programming; by acting as a repository for American Indian artifacts, arts and crafts through the INDIAN MUSEUM OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and the NATIVE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL & CULTURAL CENTER(R); and by establishing and operating the INDIAN UNIVERSITY OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and, when practical, a medical training center for American Indians.
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crazy Horse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I visited Crazy Horse. The monument is a remarkable work of art. The staff was very nice and helpful. They are dog friendly, which was important to us. We will go back and see their progress in a few years.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EileenBudandDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,601
    840
    480
    295
    257
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keithville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

It cost my husband and I $20 to get in. Big deal!! This project may never get completed, but it is part of how history. It is fascinating to see in person. I just wish we would have had the time to take the bus trip to the base of the mountain so we could have seen it closer.

I consider this a must see. I am so glad that I had the opportunity to see it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendaDSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“VeryScenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

While in the Rapid City area, we drove to the Crazy Horse Memorial. The monument is still under construction and will probably be for many more years. There was a museum with lots of indian history and crafts, which was very interesting, The rest was pretty touristy. There was a nice restaurant; and we tried the Buffalo Burgers. They were pretty good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deputydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome Laser Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Crazy Horse Memorial is a must see and even kids get a kick out of it. It was really neat to see history. Would suggest if your in the Black Hills area to check this out. It is $10 to get in, if you have a girl or boy scout and they are wearing their uniform they can get in for free. Stay for the nightime laser show.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Syurkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An amazing site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Whenever we are in the Black Hills area, we usually stop at the Crazy Horse Monument. It is located on the main highway, just north of Custer, SD. You can see the monument from the highway, and there is a fee to enter the park. We've been to the monument several times over the past 10 years and things haven't changed much, work is pretty slow. The monument is being built with no government money, and is funded by private donations, fundraising events, and fees collected at the monument. I believe that they only do blast work on the monument a few times per year.

Upon entering the monument park, you don't really realize how large this sculpture is, They say that you could actually fit the entire Mount Rushmore on the side of Crazy Horse's head. (Mount Rushmore heads are 60 feet high, Crazy Horse Monument will be 563 feet high when finished) It is billed as the world's largest sculpture. The visitor center is actually located a short distance away from the monument, so it isn't the up close viewing you get at Mount Rushmore. The visitor center is filled with a native american museum with history, photos, and artifacts. There are native american crafters in the visitor center, selling their items. There is also a gift shop area, selling gifts and memorabillia. Behind the visitor center is an outdoor viewing/seating area, with telescopes for up close viewing. Behind the visitor center is also a sculptor's workshop area, where you can check out many of his smaller sculptures and his living quarters while he was working on the monument.

During the beginning of June and the end of September, there is a hike that allows you to hike (6 miles) up to the monument worksite and get a face to face viewing of the monument. There are also other events scheduled throughout the year, including evening laser lighting shows, and evening blastings

Blasting on the monument began in 1948, and I will probably never see it finished in my lifetime. It is reported that the federal government offered $10 million on a couple occasions, but the money was turned down, for fear of the federal government taking over operations.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Horse Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing