We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”

Crazy Horse Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
More Info
$275.00*
and up
Full-Day Mt. Rushmore Monuments Tour from Deadwood
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Black Hills Monument Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the culture, tradition and living heritage of the North American Indians. The Foundation demonstrates its commitment to this endeavor by continuing the progress on the world's largest sculptural undertaking by carving a memorial of Lakota leader Crazy Horse; by providing educational and cultural programming; by acting as a repository for American Indian artifacts, arts and crafts through the INDIAN MUSEUM OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and the NATIVE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL & CULTURAL CENTER(R); and by establishing and operating the INDIAN UNIVERSITY OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and, when practical, a medical training center for American Indians.
Ballwin, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This is much better than Mt. Rushmore. You can spend all day here and have fun and learn something too. I ate the buffalo stew with Indian fry bread at the restaurant and I loved it. I say visit Crazy Horse if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,719
    901
    517
    323
    269
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“TOO Big”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I saw this before I went to see Mt Rushmore. IT"S BIG. Lots to see & the Indian history is interesting. I noticed that the carving was showing signs of having to be altered due to the structural supports necessary to support it in various places. Just too big for its own good.
We will never see it completed, nor will our children's, children.
It does have heart.
Listen to "The Songs of Crazy Horse (The story of Custer's last stand from the indian perspective) & Yellow Hands (The battle from the horses perspective)" by JD Blackfoot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PoodleGlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Skip the Presidential Mt. Rushmore, Go see this tribute to a REAL founding father”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Although I don't like to give money to the state(the indigenous Native Americans in the area receive no money for this monument to one of their great leaders), the temptation is too great not to visit the Crazy Horse Memorial. The fancy dancers were a pure joy to watch. Dressed in their traditional jingle clothing, the hand beading, leather work, feathers and dancers were my favorite part of the Memorial...I think. I love all the history contained within the walls of the Crazy Horse Memorial too. While we were there, I was speaking to one of the dancers and mentioned that it was my husband's birthday, he having lost a leg and wearing a prosthetic. The wonderful "Turtle" woman asked where he was and I pointed him out in his wheelchair. (Turtle woman is what her name meant in Lakota) When the next dance started, she came over to my husband, who is half Cherokee, and raised him from the chair and brought him into the circle of dancers where he danced along with the Natives, in front of all the people watching! I was shocked since he normally tried to hide his prosthetic. But he said he felt, for the first time in his life, the blood of the red man flowing thru his body as he danced with the rest of the Native Americans. So glad I brought my video cam.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Blech”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

What an eyesore. Looks more like an over-sized (and unfinished) lawn ornament than a statue of tribute. The introductory film sort of showcases how nuts the guy who started the project was and glorifies him and the only native American voice comes from one guy, "Olympic medalist, Billy Mills" (is he meant to represent all Lakota?). Also, while I want to commend the efforts of the museum, it is such a mess. A great deal is not labeled, is completely without context, and you will find many displays with relics from all over the Americas just seemingly thrown all together. Its really a shame, because there are some wonderful things in their collection. Overall, it feels like a poorly run organization, that can't prioritize (not mission-oriented/seeks to grow before strengthening what they have/most detail seemed to go into intro film and gift shop).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very Amazing - Pretty Pricey”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been to Crazy horse 3 times now and I am blown away by it every time I visit. The dream of one man and the focus by him and (now) his family to finish this dream is spectacular.

There is a cool light show at night that we like to stay for. There is also a place to grab some food as well in the memorial. If you want to hike the whole thing, they open it up once a year around June.

The only negative is that it is $10 per person over the age of 6 or $27 whichever is cheaper. Be prepared, but know if you like this kind of stuff it is totally worth it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank zeke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Horse Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing