We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Crazy Horse Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
More Info
$275.00*
and up
Full-Day Mt. Rushmore Monuments Tour from Deadwood
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Black Hills Monument Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the culture, tradition and living heritage of the North American Indians. The Foundation demonstrates its commitment to this endeavor by continuing the progress on the world's largest sculptural undertaking by carving a memorial of Lakota leader Crazy Horse; by providing educational and cultural programming; by acting as a repository for American Indian artifacts, arts and crafts through the INDIAN MUSEUM OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and the NATIVE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL & CULTURAL CENTER(R); and by establishing and operating the INDIAN UNIVERSITY OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and, when practical, a medical training center for American Indians.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

It's interesting to learn about what they are trying to finish in the side of this mountain, it's seems to me that they will not be finished with it in my life time or even my kids life time, since they have already been working in it so long and are not anywhere close to being done. Glad we went maybe my son can take his kids someday and show them the pictures of what it looked like when he was there as a kid.

Helpful?
Thank Megs4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,762
    924
    532
    328
    278
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Recommended by Locals”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were on our way to Mt. Rushmore & Badlands when workers at our hotel recommended this as well. We were driving right by it so we decided to stop. We had no expectations about this stop since it was unplanned but I thought it was really cool. Sure it was disappointing that it wasn't finished but since it isn't federally funded, I can understand why. Plus the rock is huge so blasting 100,000 tons of rock at a time seems like a lot but that is only small amounts compared to the size of this thing overall!!! For those of you that have actually seen Mt. Rushmore, the 4 faces in that monument is the same size as Crazy Horse's head! Very inspirational story behind this monument w/ a good movie that explains it all, plus a museum that documents a lot of Native American History. I had no idea about Crazy Horse, the history of him or what he stood for, or the artist for that matter. Glad we stopped!!! Hard not to be inspired by this.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I look forward to bringing my grandchildren”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

They offer a $100 per person tour up on the arm. Kids 14 and under free. Also they do a light show at night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KevinKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had heard that this was much more impressive them MT. Rushmore so after being underwhelmed my that we came to see Crazy Horse. We were staying in Custer and had driven by in the morning on the way to Badlands NP (WONDERFUL!) so had seen the face. We thought we were seeing the profile and the rest of it was out of our view. We drove up the access road and didn't see the cost until at the gate(maybe the "no u-turn" signs should have been a clue?). $27 for 4 of us did give us a second thought but figured why not. As we started reading the brosure while parking we realized that the face is the ONLY part completed!! The same that you can see from the road! And you don't get anywhere close to it at that!

We knew it was not finished but had no clue that it was barely started (after 60+ years)! On top of the $27 fee there were donation boxes everywhere, including where you could take a piece pf the rock they had removed. So we could pay more to help dispose of their junk rock!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Cfrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were vacationing in the Custer, SD area and had driven past the memorial twice and just couldn't get enthused about it. Our son and his family were insisting we at least give it a try and we are glad we did. The memorial has been under development for many years and is still many years away from completion. If you are looking for something along the lines of Mount Rushmore, you will probably be disappointed. If you are looking for a pleasant, comfortable place to see a huge volume of informative and eye pleasing exhibits, you will definitely get your moneys worth. The visitors center is extremely large and full of interesting and informative displays related to Native American culture and to the Black Hills area. The biggest plus for our visit was that for no additional charge you can watch the laser light show presented nightly. You can simply stay around for it or they will give you a pass at the visitor center that will allow you to re-enter the park before dusk and you can watch the light show from the visitor center or even tail gate and watch it from the parking area. There are loud speakers throughout the park so you won't miss any of the dialog associated with the show. If you are in the area, do yourself a favor and check this place out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cvillekats3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Horse Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing