We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Crazy Horse Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Black Hills Monument Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the culture, tradition and living heritage of the North American Indians. The Foundation demonstrates its commitment to this endeavor by continuing the progress on the world's largest sculptural undertaking by carving a memorial of Lakota leader Crazy Horse; by providing educational and cultural programming; by acting as a repository for American Indian artifacts, arts and crafts through the INDIAN MUSEUM OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and the NATIVE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL & CULTURAL CENTER(R); and by establishing and operating the INDIAN UNIVERSITY OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and, when practical, a medical training center for American Indians.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We made the mistake of taking the bus trip (extra $4 pp) to get closer to carving before watching the video of the making of Crazy Horse. Watch the video in the visitor center first. The man behind the carving and his family were incredible. The carving after many years is only partially done, so be sure to go to the visitors center to see what the carving will look like and long term plans for the area. It cost $10 pp or $27 per carload.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank GoldwingGirl1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,600
    840
    479
    295
    257
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very well done.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed the Crazy Horse Memorial. I don't think it was a tourist trap, any more than anything else in the area. Yes, they sell stuff to fund the work they are doing...Mount Rushmore was equally eager to part me from some cash for overpriced t-shirts and knick-knacks, and they aren't actively working on the memorial. It's admirable that the Crazy Horse Monument hasn't taken any government money.

I can't believe that some people are actually complaining about the cost and saying they haven't made progress - this is slow, expensive work and they *have* made a lot of progress since the face appeared, it just hasn't been as dramatic. Look at the photos and you will see.

We thought the historical information, the information about Korczak Ziolkowski and his family, and the overall desire to present a Native American viewpoint (especially as a counter to Mount Rushmore) was very well done. I also thought it was great that many Native American artisans are given the oppportunity to sell their art, jewelry, etc.

Overall we found it inspiring. I think Korczak Ziolkowski had great intentions and he worked very hard to see it through. I look forward to the day it is completed.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WomanOnAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
291 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“If you just want a picture of Crazy Horse, Save your money, take a picture from the car!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We decided to check out the monument until we got the payment gate and saw that it was $10 per person or $27 per car. We decided the cost was too high for an unfinished monument that you can see from your car. We turned around, took a picture from our car and were on our way.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank MissMandaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“SCAM”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Mount Rushmore. Finished sculpture $11.00 a car to get in. Crazy Horse $20.00 to get in to see an unfinished sculpture. Sure they built a big welcome centre, but thats not what crazy horse is about. It is the huge sculpture on the mountain. Oh yeah if one wants a close up look of the sculpture, it's another $4.00 per person ride on a old bus.
There are a lot of things to do in the Black Hills, save your money here and rather enjoy the rest of the Black Hills. One can take a picture of crazy horse from the road for free and it is the same picture one will get after going into the park.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank HOGG00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was neat to see. Be sure to take the bus tour to the monument. the movie is also worth watching. Our tour guide was very informative about the monument & it's history. Glad we went.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Horse Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing