We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the BEST”
Review of Akta Lakota Museum

Akta Lakota Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Akta Lakota Museum to experience a living lesson on the Native American way of life, past and present. Each year we receive thousands of visitors from all over the globe that want to deepen their appreciation of Lakota culture. As an outreach program of St. Joseph's Indian School we pride ourselves on not just providing that experience but creating an atmosphere conducive to learning and healing into the hearts of our students as well as our visitors. What makes our museum such a wonderful experience is our focus. We have an outstanding collection of cultural, historical and artistic works that relate specifically to the Northern Plains Indian Tribes, the ancestry of the students served at St. Joseph's. Our historical collection honors the past while our contemporary collection represents the creative spirit of today's world. We work closely with Indian artist and artisans to present contemporary artwork that builds on cultural traditions while expressing itself in new ways. What you take away from your visit is the understanding that Lakota culture is not just a thing of the past. It's alive and thriving today.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Reviewed June 25, 2015

What a treasure!!! LOVED the museum. Be sure you have enough time to see it all. Each display is better than the one before. Lots of history to see and learn

Thank djd0366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D T, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2015

Pilamaya - thank you for reviewing our museum. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and are spreading the word. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"indian school"
in 32 reviews
"gift shop"
in 25 reviews
"medicine wheel"
in 5 reviews
"lakota sioux"
in 6 reviews
"missouri river"
in 12 reviews
"cultural center"
in 8 reviews
"native american culture"
in 8 reviews
"daily life"
in 3 reviews
"st joseph"
in 3 reviews
"interactive activities"
in 3 reviews
"better understanding"
in 3 reviews
"historical information"
in 4 reviews
"white man"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the stop"
in 5 reviews
"great history"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 6 reviews
"artifacts"
in 26 reviews
Filter

180 - 184 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

This was the best museum we stopped at along our trip; and it was FREE! Friendly and informative staff, great exhibits and reasonably priced gift shop. Well worth the trip!

Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D T, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Andrew - so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum. Hope you can make it back sometime in the near future. Pilamaya - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

We just stopped by and thought it was great. Everything from good parking to expert staff. Exhibits were beautiful and informative. The school exhibit skips the downsides of the Indian School. The museum shows life through the ages for the Sioux Tribe.

Thank Peggy Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D T, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Peggy Anne - glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum. Hope you can make it back sometime in the near future. Pilamaya - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015

Beautifully designed museum with artifacts that document the Lakota way of life. We saw a fascinating exhibit of Arthur Aimiott's collages. The gift shop is wonderful.

Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D T, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Julie -- so glad that enjoyed your visit to the museum and the exhibit Transformation & Continuity: The Collages of Arthur Amiotte. Hope you can stop back on your next trip through. Pilamaya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2015

Absolutely incredible. Made me feel nostalgic, enlightened, impressed, and sad all in the same visit. My only not positive comment is that I found out on other tours across the country that some of the things the lady at the info desk told us were not completely accurate. Not a deal breaker by any means though, this place has some incredible history and stories to tell/show! <3

1  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D T, Manager at Akta Lakota Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2015

Pilamaya – thank you visiting our museum! Hope you have time to stop by on your next trip to South Dakota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akta Lakota Museum also viewed

 

Been to Akta Lakota Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing