We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice place and beautiful views"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Mounds View, Minnesota
1 review
“"Nice place and beautiful views"”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel was amazing. From the cleanliness, comfortable beds, quietness, and the spectacular views. My husband has stayed here on several occasions and has always been pleased with their service. We stayed 2 nights and then continued on to Rapid City. My husband caught fish and they kept it in the freezer for us until we made our way back. I will definitely stay here again. Hands down this was the nicest place we stayed in South Dakota.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandiChamberlain, General Manager at Super 8 Chamberlain SD, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank You so much for the great compliment. I am happy to here that you choose us at the Super 8. Yes we have freezer space for all guest for fish, pheasant, and other items to be frozen. Thank You for being a loyal customer look forward to see you on your next trip. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    62
    39
    23
See reviews for
105
79
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spent one night there traveling back East from Colorado and Utah and found it to be a clean quite place to rest. The room was large and clean, the pool area clean and the font desk clerk Lindsay helpful and friendly. Perched on a hill overlooking the river was a nice view different from most highway hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandiChamberlain, General Manager at Super 8 Chamberlain SD, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for following up on your recent stay. We have dicussed that you were unsatisfied with your stay and as promised I did refund the amout that you were told in the email. I take full responsibility for the situation and it has been addressed. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent one night here, and were very happy with it. First off, the view of the river is spectacular. It was a full moon the night we were here, and it was amazing. My wife and I ate our dinner on the patio by the pool and looked out to the river. The pool was a typical hotel pool. Our room was quiet and the beds felt fine. It's a bit of a traveler's motel (we were traveling), but if you are heading through this area, it's worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djstatick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed in this Super 8 a few years ago and it was not a good experience. The room was not cleaned properly. I decided to give them a second chance and found things better, but still not great. Coffee stains on the vanity (which wiped right off), something sticky on the fridge, and smudges on the table. They need to clean up their act! Also, the TV's need to be replaced. The picture was snowy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Peg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Past experiences staying at Super 8 Motels have ranged from terrible to fair. Chamberlain's
Super 8 had large, clean rooms, clean corridors, friendly and knowledgeable registration staff,
large pool--very satisfactory, despite many hunters and dogs staying there. It was quiet, good beds. It was the most expensive Motel 8 I have stayed in--$100--but par with other moderate motels. My hunting buddy and I both said we would even take our wives here! :)

Room Tip: This motel is right off of I-90--very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

There was a dead bug on my nightstand table. The pool had crickets floating in it. The room was cold and drafty. Overpriced and poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamberlain
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Chamberlain
292 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Oacoma
120 reviews
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Oacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cedar Shore Resort
Cedar Shore Resort
#3 of 6 in Oacoma
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oacoma
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Chamberlain/Oacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chamberlain SD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chamberlain SD

Property: Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Address: Lakeview Hts, Chamberlain, SD 57325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Chamberlain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chamberlain SD 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 of Chamberlain South Dakota is located on the Missouri River and from our motel you will see breath taking views of the river. Our motel is nestled on top of small hill located right off I-90 easy on/off. We have 54 rooms heated indoor pool and hot tub. We have a free continental breakfast and free wifi for all of our guest to enjoy. Our rooms are spacious and or staff is friendly and eager to please of future guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Chamberlain SD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Chamberlain
Super Eight Chamberlain
Chamberlain Super Eight
Chamberlain Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing