We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very good, but pricey during hunting season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center
1981 East King Street, Chamberlain, SD 57325-0654   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good, but pricey during hunting season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hi--Everything was just fine, clean, working properly. The woman who kept the breakfast area going was terrific--above and beyond the call of duty.

My first time at an Americinn. The building was much more soundproof than other places I've stayed, just as they advertise.

The cost was very high, but it was a weekend during hunting season, so I guess that's understandable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHfromBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica N, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for the review. Yes, these first few weeks of hunting season for the hotel are a peak season for the property. We sure appreciate you choosing to stay with us given that busy time and are even more thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your kind words with the breakfast attendant and thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    110
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
152
70
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you can, stay somewhere else. The bathroom was filthy. The bathroom floor had dirt, bugs, spider webs, and hair in all four corners and behind the stool. The property smelled of cigarette smoke. Pillows are worn out. Carpet is worn out. Many things are dusty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica N, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your first trip advisor review. We certainly apologize if you found the room anything but satisfactory. Our AmericInn has a very high standard and reputation of guest room cleanliness. You were promised a clean room and it appears we did not live up to that expectation. I apologize and we will follow up as to how the rooms are inspected. All our guest rooms have new carpet, pillows, case goods, and etc. We are a non smoking facility, so I am not sure where the smoke smell would have originated from but we will also check into it.

Again, thank you for the review. We would be thrilled to earn your business back in the future should you change your mind. Best of luck with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have been pheasant hunting in the Chamberlain area for many years in late October. The AmericInn charges a bit more than the mid tier motels in the area but is quite clean and offers nicely appointed, clean rooms and still has a fairly new feel to it compared to the alternatives. Facility was comfortably quiet at night. For years we stayed at Cedar Shores (and still go for dinner) but the reservation policies and ease of working with AmericInn have made this place our preferred location. Breakfast is okay, but nothing to write home about---only hot dish is biscuits and gravy. Did not eat at the conference center so unable to comment.

Room Tip: preferred rooms are upstairs at end opposite of lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubaytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived late and the hotel did not have our reservation (which my wife was sure she made, but she has been wrong before!). They had open rooms and gave us one at the rate my wife thought she had agreed to on the phone. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was pretty basic. The hotel lobby is nice, with a lodge theme. The pool is basic, but worked fine for our kids. Breakfast was a pretty decent spread. We'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyinMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed with the AmericInn Lodge and Suites in Chamberlain for a conference. The price of the room was shown in the quality of the room. A little more expense for a nicer quality room. We used the conference facilities for our meetings and had lunch and supper there. The lunch was very good, but the supper was a little lacking in taste (you could tell it wasn't homemade). The staff was very friendly and obliging to split our room cost between the three people who stayed in our room, which hasn't been the case at other hotels I've been at. The breakfast was pretty good, had all the right things, but seemed to lack something... Overall great place to stay, easy to find off of the interstate, and beautiful furnishings!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place to stay. Good breakfast. Rooms are quiet at night. Good location, right off the interstate. Allows dogs during hunting season. Staff is friendly.
Great place to stay. Good breakfast. Rooms are quiet at night. Good location, right off the interstate. Allows dogs during hunting season. Staff is friendly.
Great place to stay. Good breakfast. Rooms are quiet at night. Good location, right off the interstate. Allows dogs during hunting season. Staff is friendly.
Great place to stay. Good breakfast. Rooms are quiet at night. Good location, right off the interstate. Allows dogs during hunting season. Staff is friendly.
Great place to stay. Good breakfast. Rooms are quiet at night. Good location, right off the interstate. Allows dogs during hunting season. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shogdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We came here late, our room was open , went inside, there was coffee in the pot , wet towels and bed had a nasty stain on it. Notified " Dan" the night clerk and he said nobody was in the room insinuating I was lying . He switched our room, but didn't notify us that the room he was moving us to was a standard room and did not offer to reduce the price. Slammed the keys on the counter raised his voice at me and my wife after we disputed the rate. Very rude and aggressive toward us. The rest of the staff was very friendly , and the rest of our stay was pleasant .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler13750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamberlain
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee's Motor Inn
BEST WESTERN Lee's Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Chamberlain
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
4.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Oacoma
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
#4 of 6 in Chamberlain
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Oacoma
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cedar Shore Resort
Cedar Shore Resort
#4 of 6 in Oacoma
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oasis Inn
Oasis Inn
#5 of 6 in Oacoma
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center
Address: 1981 East King Street, Chamberlain, SD 57325-0654
Location: United States > South Dakota > Chamberlain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At AmericInn of Chamberlain you can expect the highest level of service, the quietest rooms in the busines, oversized accommodations and a long list of amenities. Whether you are on a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or traveling on business, you can always look forward to relaxing at the end of the day with AmericInn of Chamberlain - Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Chamberlain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing