We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9/21/13 many dead bugs along bed enclosed lift”
Review of Riverview Inn

Riverview Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamberlain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverview Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Siouxfalls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“9/21/13 many dead bugs along bed enclosed lift”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

took room for one night.Lady greeted us very nice and pleasant. got room set stuff down and left fishing till midnight got back. Saw 2 black dead bugs by wall bed. Thought ok 2 they come in from outdoors. Dropped watch on floor and saw dead bugs by bed lift partition-looked around all and saw 9 at least on floor towards the wall by head and about 10 more around rest of bed. Opens sheet and saw a blood stain from a person even if sheet was washed. It all grossed me out. I went to very rude male clerk.He did Not offer me different room-I showed him the bugs.He said well they are dead. uhhh !!and he walked away when I said I forbid to stay there and of course he wouldn't refund the money.Said the room was cleaned and will inform manager.We drove 2 and 1/2 hrs home. That was a $63.00 loss.Pay the bigger money and stay where you can trust.Sorry Riverview!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bkay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Riverview Inn overlooks the Missouri River, offers free wifi, has clean rooms, front desk (owner) was so friendly despite working five days straight. There is a Super 8 right next door but you must be crazy to pay twice the price for an inferior motel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condon, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here after reading reviews. Not easy to find. Carpet was so dirty and stained that I didn't dare take my socks off. There were so many bugs(crickets and other things) that just kept coming in and I couldn't find where. Bed was OK. If I hadn't been so tired I would have just left. Got a little sleep and got out of there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Although this quaint little motel is not on most people's radar as they venture across South Dakota's I-90 corridor, we found it a great refuge on our quest to find overnight accommodations. The night staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean, the bathroom above average for a Mom & Pop motel, the wireless Internet worked great and the cable channel selection more than adequate. There is free coffee & donuts in the morning. I wouldn't write this place off just because the outside may not be as pretty as its neighboring chain motels, nor it's lack of amenities. If you are looking for a clean, safe, and comfortable night's rest after a long day on the road, then this is a good choice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

For the money it was a good value. Rooms were clean, staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue49321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Rooms are ok. Beds are hard. AC, ice, wifi all work. No restaurant within walking distance. Free donuts in the AM. Family restaurant short drive away. Looks like it's going downhill. View blocked by another motel (Super 8). See photo for sign posted in room. Below the sign were two clean rags. Few people staying there on a weeknight. Is the sign an indication of who is there on weekends or is it just good sense, given the clientele of motels in this price range?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwinsBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

It's nice to patronize the independents when possible, but bad experiences abound at mom and pops. Well, have no fear of this place. Scrupulously clean, friendly service, good rate (discount coupon available in SD tourism magazine at many places). Our dog was welcomed, tv, internet and climate controls worked fine. It's the last business at the top of a hill, backing up to a rolling wooded area, so you can sit outside in an uncluttered atmosphere and look at the great view of the Missouri River. The only thing that spoils the scenery is a new Stupor 8 just below. No pool, no HBO, breakfast minimal but adequate. They should fix up their signage, as it's shabby, and not indicative of the quality of the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Promouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamberlain
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
#4 of 6 in Chamberlain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Oacoma
2.2 mi away
Cedar Shore Resort
Cedar Shore Resort
#4 of 6 in Oacoma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Oacoma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
Best Western Lee'S Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Chamberlain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oasis Inn
Oasis Inn
#5 of 6 in Oacoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Inn

Property: Riverview Inn
Address: 128 Front Rd, Chamberlain, SD 57325
Location: United States > South Dakota > Chamberlain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing