We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buy; clean clean clean and comfortable”

Best Western U-Bar Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western U-Bar Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canistota
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, KS, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good buy; clean clean clean and comfortable”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This amazing little town of Canistota has several motels due to the popular chiropractic clinic there. We chose U-Bar due to the excellent reviews other travelers had left. We felt very comfortable and were pleased with our room, which had a kitchenette & table. If we needed to bring food, we would have been comfortable using the dishes and refrigerator. The bed was a king and worked well for my husband, who tends to have back issues. We slept well. We would recommend the hotel for anyone needing a good place near Lake Vermillion or in that part of South Dakota.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    24
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
21
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I called to make reservations at this "so called" motel. The guy working the phone was rude beyond belief. He was so confused on his rates that I never did get an accurate price. He made it sound like there were two beds in a closet and you would have to use the bathroom outside. He was seriously lacking in the ability to communicate with people in general. I guess some people think they are the only choice out there, but thankfully they are not. Save time and the punishment of rude people and get a room somewhere else. There are much classier places if you just drive a little further and it will be worth every penny.

Room Tip: Drive a little further and save yourself the headache of bad customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 591JimE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were searching for a place to stay outside of Sioux Falls and found this Best Western at a good price. The reviews were primarily good so we took a chance. So glad we did!! It had the look of an older motel as we arrived, so we were not expecting it to be too updated inside. What a pleasant surprise to walk into an attractive, clean room with granite countertops, new AC, Wi-fi, beautiful bedding on a king size bed, and even a jacuzzi tub! It had obviously been remodeled and our room was even nicer than the dated Ramada we'd stayed at recently. The owner gave us a selection of 2 restaurants when we checked in, one in town and the other, a steakhouse 5 miles away by Lake Vermillion State Park. It was a lovely quiet end to our long day of traveling. Service was provided by the owners; husband greeted us and the wife cooked us breakfast the next morning. The buffet was more than adequate by itself, but her french toast was terrific! We look forward to visiting the Best Western U-Bar Motel AND the Battle Creek Steak House on our next drive through the area!!

Room Tip: We liked our room that faced west since the sun did not wake us up; it's all personal preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightreader50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin,Wi, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel was very clean, very friendly people a little further off the interstate than we are used to. It is a small town only has two restaurants one closes and 5 pm and the other at 9 pm. If you looking for a quiet place this would be the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I enjoyed our one night stay at this Best Western. The room was smaller but very adequate, very quiet and comfortable, and priced right. It was a nice family-run business, and I would stop there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste-Anne, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was a great family operated hotel. Well worth the small detour. The breakfast and service was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel for anyone. The value for the cost was excceptional. room were a little dated with modern beds, heating and cooling as well as internet and tv.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bfe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The way that the man talked to me about not being able to read people's mind when I wanted to rent a room. Once I was in the room it stunk like sewer gas and behind the bed was rotted sheetrock. When the maid came to give me clean towels and empty my trash I told her no thank you and she insisted that she come into my room anyway. The way that the owners treat the employees is horrible.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Someone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western U-Bar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western U-Bar Motel

Property: Best Western U-Bar Motel
Address: 130 W Ash Street, Canistota, SD 57012-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Canistota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canistota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western U-Bar Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western U-Bar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canistota
Canistota Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing