We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little oasis”
Review of Tipperary Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tipperary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little oasis”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

GREAT place in a remote location. VERY CLEAN. Nice, nice people run it. Breakfast consists of Muffins, fruit, coffee. Pizza cooked in house $9.50. Big rooms, well lit, great exhaust fans in bathroom. Very clean and well maintained. Would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Make reservation!!!! A lot of traffic on road so busy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yrrebhtiek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Md.
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After booking and confirming our reservation we arrived to find that the current owners came to Buffalo (they actually live out of state) and cancelled our reservation so they would have a place to stay. We had to find another motel in Bowman, ND! I could not recommend this facility at all. You may make a reservation and have a confirmation (like we did) and find your room not available for you once you arrive. Very disappointing!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I found this little gem on my trip up to ND. This really was a pleasant experience, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and very clean. Will definately go back there again. More people should know about this place, it's just great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the closest motel out of Medora, ND. We stayed here to shorten our drive back to Colorado.
The room is late 80's-early 90's with live-in innkeepers. It's about what you'd expect: 2 beds, tv to the wall. There was a microwave and mini fridge. Meticulously clean! Quaint type bedspreads and towels that smell of dryer sheets. Empty your fire arms before entering!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicariouslythrulisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really no choice when staying in Buffalo. Hotel was old but kept very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very standard but comfortable. Buffalo is definitely a stop of last resort! Town has very few services. Limited choice for meals.

Room Tip: off the road so all rooms fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viking, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

It is an older place, but clean, new rugs, probably no ones knows about it, but with the big oil boom in North dakota, we stayed here and we would again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vh0wery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tipperary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipperary Lodge

Property: Tipperary Lodge
Address: 604 1st Street West, Buffalo, SD 57720
Location: United States > South Dakota > Buffalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tipperary Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tipperary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing