We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Brookings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Brookings
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
SIOUX FALLS
1 review
“Yuck”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our room smelled horribly of chlorine and the walls have apparent moisture and mold damage. Bedding was very old looking as well as everything else in the room. Hotel is in need of a major facelift. I would not stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank SARAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, General Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Brookings Days Inn. I do apologize that you were not happy with your stay. We do our best to make sure each and every guest has the best stay under the sun. We are in the process of many major upgrades and repairs to our hotel. We are in the process now of redoing our pool area, I do hope you would give us another chance and try out our newly remodeled pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    92
    140
    121
    77
See reviews for
281
39
13
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Must husband is a construction worker staying in town for four months. After staying across the street, I sent him over to the days inn to be in a cleaner and more up to date hotel. My kids and I like to come stay with him from time to time and we enjoy the morning breakfast and fun slides in the pool area. Another nice thing is that they just UPDATED their rooms and hallways. Looks nice! Front desk staff is helpful and friendly. We will continue to come weekly. Hope they update the pool area soon ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay the Brookings Days Inn. Thank you for the kind compliments you gave us about your stay, it is always a pleasure to hear our guests are happy and will return.Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST PAUL
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel seemed decently clean, as it was very empty (few guests). I was placed in a room as far away from the entrance as possible and the side door that I was supposed to use looked like an employee entrance rather than a guest entrance - it opened to a stairwell. All entrances at this hotel are not locked and anyone can enter them. This was bothersome since I was traveling alone for business and I am a young female. Housekeeping knocked on my door twice in the morning, once at 9 AM and the second time at 9:30 AM to clean the room. Since I was only staying for one night this was VERY annoying. I travel and work various overnight shifts, so this disrupted the very minimal sleep I actually got. Since I was one of the few people staying there, I did not know why they couldn't have waited to clean the room until after the 11 AM check out time. The entire hotel smelled like cigarette smoke as well. I had to reserve the room by phone as the internet reservations wouldn't work, and I ended up receiving a tiny 1 queen bed room when I had asked for a standard double queen room. I didn't press the issue because I arrived late and had to work late night shifts right away when I got there. The TV also had many channels that did not work, they came in full of static. I probably wouldn't stay here again as three nicer hotels are just across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank SHAWNA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Brookings Days Inn,
I do apologize that you were not happy with your stay.
Housekeeping does start at 9 am, so I do apologize for any inconvience you had during your stay.
I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make your stay more pleasureable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brookings hotels

MORGAN HILL
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything was fine until I asked for a wake - call for the morning of my departure. the gentleman at the counter took down the right time but put the wrong date on the sheet therefore missing my wake - up call.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank JIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, General Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for chosing the Brookings Days Inn.

I do apologize that your wake up call was not taken care of properly.

I will see what I can do about making sure that does not happen again to you or any other guest.

I do hope you will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed 1 night on road trip back from Palm Springs and found hotel right off the interstate ,was clean, modern and very reasonable ,pleasant staff ,also has a Ground Round Resturant on site very convienient .....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsflyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, General Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay the Brookings Days Inn. Thank you for the kind compliments you gave us about your stay, it is always a pleasure to hear our guests are happy and will return.Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Brookings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Brookings

Property: Days Inn Brookings
Address: 2500 East Sixth Street, Brookings, SD 57006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just of interstate I-29 exit 132. Conveniently located right by a convenience/gas station that also has a Taco Express eatery. We have a Ground Round restaurant/lounge located in our hotel that has big screen TVs inside and also a outside eating area. All our rooms have hairdryers/free wireless internet/coffeemakers/free cable w/ and HBO. We have free truck parking for large trucks and buses. We can also accommodate large groups for meetings or get togethers. We have meeting space available for these and a dance floor for your get togethers. We do have a and fitness center for your use. We also have added a Waterpark attached to our hotel with a Spashzone for kids, a lazy river and an extra large hot tub. There is a concession stand right inside the Waterpark for refreshments. We offer discounted rates to hotel guests that wish you try out our new waterpark features. We are conveniently located right across the highway from the Swiftel center and just a few miles in to town in the university, and Mccory gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing