We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moved to a different hotel”
Review of Days Inn Brookings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Brookings
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Mesquite, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moved to a different hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel has a nice enterance, a pool, mini gold, and ping pong. I wanted to give a better review but after the perks of the facility the room and environment was not impressive. The hotel smelled of smoke (reported people smoking in "smoke-free" hotel. The beds were uncomfortable (exceptionally hard) and the TV was out of the 80's. Mold was growing on the ceiling of the bathroom due to poor ventilation. My wife picked up the phone and found a different place to stay after a couple nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank PHILIP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, General Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Brookings Days Inn, I apologize that you were not happy with your accomodations. We are improving our hotel on a daily basis with many new updates. I hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    97
    149
    123
    82
See reviews for
296
40
13
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YANKTON
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Accomodating employees and staff. The price was good and the convention services were very effecive for the meetings scheduled. Good food was associated with the convention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank SANDRA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, General Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
thank you for the kind compliments about your stay and our hotel. As the manager it is always a pleasure to hear out guests were satisfied with their stay and our customer service.
I will be sure to pass these compliments along to my staff as well.

thank you for chosing the Brookings Days Inn, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Usually when staying in a "2 star" hotel you would expect 2 star ammenities and service. I arrived later in the evening coming off from a long road trip. The young man at the front desk provided exceptional service! I was surprised by how spacious and clean my room was..the pool was more then expected with waterslides, mini arcade and a hottub (which needs a little work on the interior). A restaurant attached to the hotel was also unexpected, To top it off the continental breakfast was more then great! Thank you days inn for providing such great ammenities!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlyengaged2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, General Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel. It is always such a pleasure to hear from our satisfied guests. I will be sure to pass along the compliments to all our staff. We are in the process of remodeling our pool area. We actually have the contractors coming to redo our hot tub and pool area with in the next few months. Again thank you for sharing your compliments with other travelers and also we do hope you will chose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We took a chance and stayed at this hotel a few days ago despite the negative reviews we read online. The rooms were nice and clean with very comfortable beds and the staff very friendly. Even though it is an older hotel with some rust, the decor is very modern with new carpets. There is even a restaurant within the hotel. We also took advantage of the pool and mini golf outside. The price was less than any of the others in the area and we had a great breakfast including hot waffles and fresh fruit before we left. We will definitely stay at the Days Inn in Brookings again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, General Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests were satisfied with their stay. I will be sure to pass along the compliments to all our staff. I hope you will chose to stay with us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What can i say---rusty fixtures, curtain rod almost out of the wall, nice plastic plant in bathroom complete with dust (must be a feature), blanket that looks like it has cig burns, slow internet, doors slamming all night, exterior doors are unlocked so crappy security,

Now lets talk about the Ground Round--just not good--is that real hamburger? I think my heart stopped from the salt on the fries--if you like football then this is the place for you---the tvs are so out of sync you can watch the same play several times on the different tvs--about a 7 second delay--oh yea the sound only matches the tv at the bar.

Do you self a favor and find some place else--I would go to Sioux Falls if all the other hotels were booked rather than stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muston19016, Manager at Days Inn Brookings, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I apologize that you were not happy with your stay. We do our best to make all our guests happy and make sure they have an enjoyable stay. We are an aging hotel and we are continually making upgrades to ensure the safety and comfort of our guests.

Again I apologize that you were not happy with your stay or your experience at the Ground Round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brookings hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Brookings
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Brookings
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Brookings

Property: Days Inn Brookings
Address: 2500 6th St, Brookings, SD 57006-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just of interstate I-29 exit 132. Conveniently located right by a convenience/gas station that also has a Taco Express eatery. We have a Ground Round restaurant/lounge located in our hotel that has big screen TVs inside and also a outside eating area. All our rooms have hairdryers/free wireless internet/coffeemakers/free cable w/ and HBO. We have free truck parking for large trucks and buses. We can also accommodate large groups for meetings or get togethers. We have meeting space available for these and a dance floor for your get togethers. We do have a and fitness center for your use. We also have added a Waterpark attached to our hotel with a Spashzone for kids, a lazy river and an extra large hot tub. There is a concession stand right inside the Waterpark for refreshments. We offer discounted rates to hotel guests that wish you try out our new waterpark features. We are conveniently located right across the highway from the Swiftel center and just a few miles in to town in the university, and Mccory gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookings Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing