We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet location but still close enough to the Interstate for easy on and off. Applebee's within walking distance. Great selection for breakfast with hot and cold items. Nice, clean and spacious room with super comfy bed. There was a mattress cover that was a bit noisy but didn't have any effect on a great night sleep. Big bathroom as well. I would stay there again in a heartbeat, especially since they allowed dogs. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. A big thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I loved this hotel. The look, the feel, everything. It was simply an 'Express' and I generally associate those as not having the detail of a full scale Holiday Inn. The lobby was spacious with comfortable seating, the breakfast area was large. (The food was mediocre - same as every other Holiday Inn Express menu, but the cinnamon rolls were tasty). The room was really beautiful. The bed very comfortable. The sheets and pillows were perfect. I slept very well......which doesn't always happen when traveling alone. The bathroom was very clean and bright. I did not use the pool, so do not have an opinion on it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I were on a trip from Alberta Canada and the roads in South Dakota were horrible to say the least. The hotel staff at this location was wonderful and very accommodating. We upgrading our standard and had a king size bed and a pull out small couch. The pool was decent and I was thrilled to see not one but two life guards on duty! The beds were comfortable and the room quite spacious. The only downfall was the eggs in the morning.... The biscuits and gravy were okay.... but the eggs were lacking in freshness. All in all, we would have stayed here even without the breakfast simply for the amazing customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ypperin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the past two years. Always pleasant staff. Hotel is very clean. Beds are comfortable and rooms are quiet. Wonderful breakfast. Can't beat the South Dakota friendliness and work ethic.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillySpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved the nights rest in their cozy beds. Woke to fabulous complimentary breakfast!!! Mmmmmmm........ Down fall is if you are traveling with kids the water slide is only open on weekends and the swimming pool is less than four feet deep, so you can't swim laps.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

For a simple overnight while passing through Brookings, this worked out great! We were impressed with the young new manager - Erin. We learned that she is a recent hospitality grad from SDSU and has worked at different hotels for the past few years. This is her first job as manager and with her can-do attitude, we think it reflects with all the staff. The room was clean & comfortable and the breakfast satisfying. We were delighted with our stay at this friendly location!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Twinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just a great room, we were given the last room with two queens, hotel was quiet, beds comfortable, breakfast good; If in Brookings we would stay here again. walmart just across highway, applebees right next door.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Brookings
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Brookings
Days Inn Brookings
#9 of 9 in Brookings
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Brookings
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006-4700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range: $115 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing