We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steakhouse”

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: A small, family-owned group of restaurants, hand-crafting food since 1995. We feature wood-fire grilled steaks cooked over full-size logs of oak and ash, award-winning BBQ slow-smoked on premise, homemade desserts and much more.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good steakhouse”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a busy place and I know why, it has good food and service.

Our party had the opportunity to visit with the executive chef before we ordered and he gave some excellent advice. We had bacon wrapped shrimp as an appetizer and it was very good. All meals were good and the portions were just right.

Will go back next time I'm in Brookings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    42
    31
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than average food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

But kinda pricey. Enjoyable, but this is a food chain, and just doesn't quite reflect the region. Nice atmosphere, good service, close to the freeway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdsuprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'm not much for chains, but ...”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I had the ribeye this trip with a baked sweet potato and salad, and it was very good. It's not particularly cheap, but then neither are other steak places in town. We've been here twice, and will likely go back, even though we're cutting back on red meat. I'll be trying the ribs next time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Ribeye!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've eaten at A LOT of steak houses, and to be honest, I didn't have the highest expectations for some reason when we chose this place to meet family for a dinner event. I was totally surprised at my own meal. I ordered the rib eye~it was not only done to perfection, but a true quality piece of meat. I had the salad and grilled veggies on the side. Salad was a bit small and underwhelming, but the ranch dressing was very good.
Grilled Veggies were zucchini, squash and mushrooms on 2 skewers. Nicely done.
The rest of the table seemed pleased, but mine looked the best. The fries were nothing to write home about. Basic and lacked flavor from the comments. The BBQ sauces they brought were good~6 to choose from.
My daughter had a french dip. The meat was good, but the bun seemed a big like a hot dog bun.
My son ordered a sausage sandwich. I wasn't impressed with it at all, and neither was he.
Other daughter ordered a overnight brisket. It was OK, but tasted like beef jerky. Corn muffins were nothing like we've had at other establishments. These were small and, dull.
Mac and cheese was a hit, and my spouse had a salad, as did my MIL, and they were HUGE. Both liked them very much.

I'd return, but be choosier. Steak was perfect though!
One other thing, if you're budget conscious, be aware....prices here can easily pack a ZING. Typical steakhouse prices though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I expected more... There was nothing special about their food or service to set them apart from the other restaurants in town, and the prices were higher than should have been, since their food was not any better than any of the other places in town. I'm not saying it was bad, but nothing special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 888Kelly888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing