We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh yeah. Half price sushi Mondays!”
Review of Sake

Sake
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Oh yeah. Half price sushi Mondays!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Hubby had chicken teriyaki which was very mild and tasty. Brother-in-law had chicken fried rich that w as a beautiful presentation. A bowl-shaped mound of rice with large chicken chunks on top with a pink sauce served on the side. Couldn't quite describe the taste of the sauce but it was very good. I had veggie, cucumber, and avocado and peanut sushi with miso soup. Very good vegetable sushi. There was a line of college students waiting when we left.

We will go back the next time we visit family in Brookings.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Food - Especially for SD”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Although the variety of sushi available is limited, what is available is very good. The hibachi menu is also very good, with the seafood combo and the filet and seafood being my personal favorites. Service is generally good, and the prices are very reasonable, especially for normally pricey Japanese cooking and sushi. House wine is also reasonable, especially by the bottle.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sake serves great sushi by any standard. The fact that they are located thousands of miles from any coast make this a true stand out. This is a must stop if you are in the area. If you are local, put Monday down as ';date night' because they serve 1/2 price sushi all day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrewerSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were surprised that Brookings had such a good Japanese restaurant. The sushi was excellent as were other dishes that we tried. You will enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DDLVKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great sushi in the midwest!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As a sushi lover, I am always tickled to find a new place to satisfy my cravings. Sake is a small but very cool restaurant tucked in a mini-mall near a HyVee grocery store. The atmosphere is very modern and attractive, and they have an extensive menu. Wait staff was attentive without being annoying. The presentation of the food was excellent. The South Dakota roll had bright red, orange, green and black tobiko on top; very colorful! The tobiko was actually firm and fresh, not like the mush you get at some sushi places. My rolls were served with a dipping sauce, possibly with sake in it, which I really enjoyed. I'm not a fan of soy sauce, but this was something entirely different. Started with my favorites, miso soup and seaweed salad. The wasabi was actually hot without being painful, and the spicy tuna roll had a respectable amount of heat. I will definitely be eating here again!!! And again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysL8_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing