We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for afternoon walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McCrory Gardens

McCrory Gardens
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for afternoon walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We live in Brookings and visit MG every so often. There is the "main" part, and then more area in back for a longer walk. Nothing stunning, just a nice place for a walk away from people and traffic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For the Gardener”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

McCrory Garden is a peaceful landscape with excellent example of trees, shrubs, native grasses and flowers that will grow in the upper midwest. it is well laid out and easily accessible with wonderful color combinations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GardenGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, SD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Colorful, peaceful world adjoining busy street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Well labelled plants, tastefully designed, used to try new varieties of plants & shrubs, showcase All-American selections. Great way to see if the glowing seed catalog descriptions grow like that in SD

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GustafClark_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth visiting once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's very nice and we enjoyed it. I guess I have to say it's really nothing that special. Don't get me wrong. It's worth visiting once. Maybe flowers just doesn't get me excited? But check it out for yourself.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brookings Summer Must See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A big, beautiful garden in the middle of the cornfield that is eastern South Dakota. Stop by, it's right off of 6th St.

Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCrory Gardens also viewed

 

Been to McCrory Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing