We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a visit”

Children's Museum of South Dakota
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was one of the best museums we have been to. The water room and the grocery store were a favorite. We are going again this summer with a lot more people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank majesta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    12
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treat that can't be beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you have children below the age of 12, a trip to this facility is a must. Even those passing through are well advised to take a break and enjoy this unique museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little overpriced....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

For a town the size of Brookings, this is a very nice attraction....however it is priced as a children's museum in larger cities. If you are close enough and can buy a pass, it's probably worth it. I wouldn't make this a vacation destination.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“it's ok... kids seem to have fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The title of this review basically wraps my review up. There are a lot of hands on activities for young people; kids between 5 & 10 would probably be the target range for the activities. But is it "great?" I don't know... there seems to be more "hype" about it than there should be. The highlight of the musuem is probably the life-sized dinasours that are just outside of the museum. But this is a review coming from an adult... a young person (like my nephew) would likely have a much different opinion. The one thing I don't get.... don't understand... and DON"T like; about a year ago, the city of Brookings agreed that the CHILDREN"S MUSUEM could have a beer and wine license for "after hours." This is college town filled with bars and places to get a cocktail. In my opinion.... there is NO reason for the CHILDREN'S Museum to hold or need such a license for use at any time of the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great customer service by the staff. Very clean. Lots to do for all ages. Great price for all there is to do. Good food in the cafe

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rrmckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of South Dakota also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of South Dakota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing