We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”

Children's Museum of South Dakota
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Brookings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We could have spent the whole day here... There were activities for all ages and the cost was very cheap. Something outdoors, something musical, something with water, something with history, and some things about the local area. Perfect! Kids didn't even know they were learning something new!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RussellScott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    12
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A great place to spend the day with your kids or grand kids. Something for every age level. Clean and safe. Great food on the cafe And the staff was wonderful. A great value too. Will go back very soon

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rrmckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Midwest Must-See for Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

You may not think of Brookings, SD, as a "destination spot" but let me tell you, the drive from surrounding towns is so worth it, not only for the fantastic Children's Museum, well the the $6 admission, but the little downtown is quaint, with beautiful trees and historic homes. We drove down from Watertown where we were staying for the week and spent a couple hours there, my 10 year old, toddler, and myself. This hands-on museum is better than the one we have in Denver, in my opinion, and is artistically inspiring. It wasn't over-crowded and we were able to keep a good pace going in and out of the themed rooms where both my kids had a blast. I even let loose a bit and played on all the elements. The T-Rex outside is so realistic my 2.5 year old bawled and ran off, so, that wasn't awesome, but there was plenty of other things to do to keep him occupied. We took a 2 hour break to get daddy from the SF airport and then headed back for one more hour on the same day, so no extra charge. This is a MUST-DO if you livein, or are visiting near, a one or two hour radius of Children's Museum of South Dakota in Brookings!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stellar New Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went with my seven grandchildren, age 2 1/2 to 7 who live in Boston, MA, while visiting our family farm. Their parents agreed that it was the best children's museum they had ever been in. Located in an old elementary school, it has big windows and solid construction to make it light and airy yet surprisingly quiet considering all the wonderful activities going on there. Each activity located in colorful separate rooms was so engaging it was difficult to get the children to move to explore another. The prairie room in the old gym incorporates a giant climbing net, a sod hut, an Indian tepee, a barn and a garden where children can pick vegetables and send them to the nearby market which has child size carts and checkouts. And there is a fantastic life size moving T-Rex outside. Worth a detour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
“Family Fun Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

So much fun even for adults.....giant litebrite board, music room, water room, food, outdoor fun - Mama and baby dinosaurs. The whole experience is great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristenlee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of South Dakota also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of South Dakota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing