We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Could be Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brandon
Certificate of Excellence
Middleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed one night while traveling between cities. The hotel seemed a bit older and run down. The first room we were assigned smelled of smoke, but the young man at the front desk was polite and accommodating and moved us to a different room. Also, the carpets were older, and the door handle on our room door was loose and seemed well used. We found the beds soft, and both of us woke up a little stiff in the morning. From a food standpoint, things were a bit challenging. Unless you are willing to eat at the sports bar type restaurant next door, the options in Brandon are few and far between. Also, while the complimentary breakfast was convenient, it was difficult to find a healthy option. On a positive note, the hotel was quiet, and the room was fairly clean. And the hotel sits right on Interstate 90, making it easily accessible for those passing through.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PV777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for staying with us this summer. I am sorry that we fell short in some of the areas you mentioned. We are a totally non-smoking hotel and it is rare that our guests ignore that, but unfortunately it does happen. I am glad that we were able to promptly move you to an appropriate room. Regarding food options both in and out of the hotel; we do always have yogurt, fresh fruit, hardboiled eggs and oatmeal for a healthy start to the day (although it IS hard to go past our cinammon rolls and pancakes and sausage)! And for nearby options, another chain restaurant is opening a half mile south of the hotel this month, and the Brandon steakhouse gets very good reviews as well. If you are headed this way for any of your holiday celebrations we hope that you will stop and see us again.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
23
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our family of 4 including 2 young boys stayed here in August 2012. We were pleasantly suprised with our last minute choice of a hotel. Room was clean and quite large. The pool area had a cute area for young kids and an amazing slide that our 7 year old loved. I liked that the pool had a dedicated lifeguard. Close to some restaurants for late night dining. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Kids love our waterslide! There is no better way to ensure a good night's sleep than having your child climb up to the top of our 210 foot waterslide a dozen or more times after being in a car all day! We love being part of great family experiences, and hope you come back again to visit us soon. Thanks for writing.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
317 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay over labor day weekend. Although we had teenage girls, they liked the slide and hot tub at the pool. Exercise room was nice. Our suite was large enough for the 5 of us to spread out. The room was very clean and updated. Beds comfortable. Staff friendly. Price was reasonable considering it was a "waterpark" hotel. The breakfast was very good with both hot and cold choices. We would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience here, and your kind words about our hotel and staff. It can be tricky to find a place with something that appeals to adults and teenagers, so we are glad everyone in your family enjoyed their time here. Since you mentioned our fitness center I wanted to let you know that in addition to our onsite center, we have access to a full gym just down the street as well for our guests where there are even more ways to work up an appetite for our breakfast of pancakes, cinnamon rolls, etc.! As the cold weather sets in, keep us in mind for another great weekend getaway in the waterpark.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I arrived without reservations a little after midnight on a Saturday night. Hotel was hosting a wedding party, but we checked to see if we could get a room.

The clerk was very helpful in putting us in a ground room floor, away from noise, and gave us a nice discount (because the room probably wasn't going to be used unless we did).

Wi-fi worked well. Breadfast was the standard hot-breakfast fare available at many restaurants.

We'd stayed here years ago with a fastpitch softball team and had similar service. Great place to stay when visiting the Sioux Falls area or needing a place to stop on I-90.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_Traveler55372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for stopping in and staying with us! I am glad that my night staff was able to accommodate you and get you a room on the first floor. Come see us next time you are in the area; if you can make it during the week we have complimentary happy hour Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays! Beth Wooten, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Excellent location, very comfortable bed, great breakfast, fun, fun, fun waterpark, complimentary drinks mid week, friendly staff, reasonably priced, clean....what more could you want? We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynSews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the hotel on Tuesday, August 14th. We had the waterpark completely to ourselves. The slide is only for people 48"+ and the height requirement is strictly enforced. If no attendant is on duty, the slide is closed and you can swim or play basketball in that pool instead. The splash park is good for ages 1-5. The only downfall was that the hot tub was closed for repairs, but we were able to use the one in the hotel next door (same owner). The evening reception was great! Beer, wine, cheese, crackers, chicken nuggets, and veggies/dip were available. All was self-serve, so no drink tickets were needed like in other hotels. Everything was refilled promptly. The morning breakfast was not so great. The pancake machine was broken. There were signs stating "Nutritious... Delicious" with pictures of bananas, but there was absolutely no fruit of any kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi - thanks for taking the time to write a review! I am glad you enjoyed the happy hour; it IS a great way to relax after a day of travel. And the waterpark is often a fun surprise for the kids. I apologize that we were out of fruit the morning you were here. We normally have bananas as well as a bowl of apples for our guests.

Please come see us again. We have a great variety of rooms and suites for every family.

Beth Wooten, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
259 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First time staying at a holiday inn express. The room was clean and welcoming. Staff was cheereful and helpful. Evening reception was not expected and was a plus. Would stay here again. Breakfast is what you would expect. Pancakes insteat of waffled. Otherwise the usual menu.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
10.0 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#11 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#20 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn And Suites
#26 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls
Ramada Sioux Falls
#46 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
9.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
Address: 1103 N Splitrock Blvd, Brandon, SD 57005-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brandon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Convention Center, Brandon. Built for business, we are convenient to Crimson Fire, Xcel, the wind energy companies, the Corson Business Park and many other Brandon and Sioux Falls corporations. Start each day with our hot, complimentary breakfast and decadent cinnamon rolls. Guests have full access to our on-site business and fitness centers, and a large gym nearby. Our amazingly fast and free Internet access and great work desks make it easy to finish any work projects, leaving plenty of time to enjoy our complimentary guest reception on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. Everyone loves our indoor water park with a 210' raft water slide (all riders must be at least 48'' tall), spa, and a play structure with a 200 gallon dumping bucket. Please note that while the water park is open every day, the big slide is open only weekends until May 25th. Starting Friday, May 25th, the slide is open daily for the summer. Our beautiful conference center hosts weddings, meetings, and training sessions for up to 350, with affordable and flexible catering options. We are five miles east of Sioux Falls on Interstate 90, and ten minutes from the airport. Scenic Falls Park, Sioux Falls' namesake, is just ten minutes away. We have great packages with pizza or trips to Grand Falls Casino, which is just ten miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel Express And Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
Holiday Inn Brandon
Brandon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing