We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A#1 hotel. Motel 6 should be Motel 10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belle Fourche
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A#1 hotel. Motel 6 should be Motel 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

After looking all over that part of the country for an affordable motel, found Motel 6 Belle Fourche ( Bell foosh). One of the cleanest, best managed motels on our trip. Jeff and his wife made us feel like family. Sturgis was over and things were quiet. Great room. Very clean. Next door to a marvelous steak house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
35
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed in this hotel for two rally's. Jeff and his staff are always friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Beds were comfy. Shower was hot. A/C was cold. The pool looked very refreshing and several guests used it. The hotel is between two restaurants (pizza hut is one of them). I would highly recommend staying here to any one. We'll be back in 2015!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at a Motel 6 over 20 years ago and I swore never again! We were desperate as our stay was during the Sturgis Bike Rally week. The rooms were very clean and fairly large, the staff was friendly and helpful. My husband said that the shower was the best he had used away from home and we travel a lot. Overall it was a good experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We weren't going to stay here because of the cost but after being left without anywhere to go (see my other review) we had no choice. It was a great place. Clean, Newly remodeled and very very nice. Bed was comfortable, the people were very friendly and did everything they could to make our stay worth the money. I would highly recommend it.
There was a couple of choices right next door for dinner, a Pizza Hut and then a newly opened western style restaurant. He chose Pizza Hut. The location was a little off the I-90 which is another reason we didn't originally choose it but it turns out that Belle Fourche is a very interesting town and worth visiting. Did you know it is the physical center of the USA? A nice museum and gift shop a mile down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Been driving all day, no rooms for the last 120 miles, late, hot, thirsty. Motel 6 has a room (smoking only) so I take it thinking at worst I'll blast the A/C with open windows to freshen the air.

The room is large, the bed is OK but nothing special, and the decor is spartan.

During the night something was crawling on my face, and in the morning the bathroom had cockroaches. Told that to the clerk when checking out and she smiled saying she'd tell the manager, although she didn't ask what room!

But it's a Motel 6, so what did I expect? Beats driving another 50 miles, I guess.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I'm sorry that you did not experience a good night's stay. It is regreatable that black beatles known in our area got into your room. We have an exterminator treat the rooms on a regular basis. The key cards are incoded with the room number, that's why she didn't ask for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very clean and comfortable hotel. We stayed one night while passing through from Yellowstone to Mt. Rushmore area. We were very impressed with the quality of this hotel. Staff even checked with us after we had been in the room for a little while to make sure everything was ok. Provided bags of ice for us to use in coolers the next morning for free. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiling-4-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

On a long road trip last year, my friends and I had grand plans to drive much further than we did; we were unable to carry on due to deer on the highway, and generally unfavourable driving conditions. We got to Belle Fourche, and originally were going to stay elsewhere, but there were no rooms available. Then we saw the Motel 6, and thankfully they had rooms available. It was my first time staying at at Motel 6. I must say, I am really impressed. It was SUPER value, fairly basic accommodations, but was extremely clean. The staff was extremely friendly, even at midnight! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I was ever in need of a room in Belle Fourche. In fact, I'm happy the 'other' hotel we were going to stay at was booked! Five stars!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Fourche
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Belle Fourche
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Belle Fourche SD
Super 8 Belle Fourche SD
#6 of 7 in Belle Fourche
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#13 of 14 in Spearfish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
12.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1815 5th Ave, I-90 Exit 10 to Hwy 85 North, Belle Fourche, SD 57717 (Formerly Motel 6)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Belle Fourche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belle Fourche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Motel 6 now newly converted to Econo Lodge under franchise agreement with Choice Hotels International,Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Belle Fourche
Motel Six Belle Fourche
Belle Fourche Motel Six
Belle Fourche Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing