We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the basics without a cheap feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in West Columbia
Miami, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the basics without a cheap feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is your standard Hampton Inn. Quality is uniform across the brand. Notable pluses: My flight got in at midnight and they paid for a taxi since I came in after their shuttle hours. They have refrigerated bottled water and cookies in the lobby; and REALLY appreciated this with the late arrival. Breakfast included a waffle-making station. Clean and reliable-- all I needed for the night. Two notable minuses: 1) The room had a very slight stale odor. 2) The iron had been dropped and the metal tip nicked with a sharp edge, not perceptible until it was snagging my clothes as I tried to iron them. Not really Hampton Inn's fault but annoying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    142
    106
    49
    26
See reviews for
158
110
42
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here in late April to take care of some business for my mother. I would have written this review sooner, but I have been too busy with moving my mother to an assisted living community. I normally stay closer to downtown, but had to change my plans and come into a day early. Almost all the hotels in the area were booked for some reason, so I chose this one for my first night because it was at least close to where I needed to be. I should have listened to the bad reviews. When I arrived, I was not really confident in the neighborhood. When I checked in, I was given a ground floor room all the way at the end of the hall by the stairway/exit. We are Hilton Honors Gold members and our profile distinctly says "high floor and non-smoking." When I realized the room was at the end of the hall, I went back to the desk to inquire about why my profile wasn't honored. I was told they didn't have any non-smoking rooms left on the upper floors. That did NOT answer my question. I asked if I could at least be moved away from the exit and closer to the middle of the hotel. They said they had one room across from the laundry and that I could move to that room, but a crew would be coming in around 4 AM to prepare a group of rooms for a corporate customer and it would be noisy. I told them that was fine because I would be up early anyway. By the time, I retrieved my things from the room and came back to the desk for the key, they had put me in a different room on a higher floor. I said okay and when I went to the room, I realized it was also at the end of the hallway but not ground level. At that point, I gave up and settled for the room. The room was the smallest I have ever experienced at a Hampton Inn. It had a double bed and when I sat in the desk chair, I had to get up to move it past the bed. The A/C unit was older and really loud. Plus, when I sat anywhere in the room, it blew directly on me. When I went back to the car to retrieve a couple of other things that I was not comfortable leaving in the car in that neighborhood. The doors adjacent to the elevator that were close to the parking lot did not work. They had signs saying they were broken and could only use them when entering from outside. I had to walk all the way back to the front of the hotel and around the side. Also, one elevator was not functioning and had a hand written sign that looked as if it had been there a while. The entire hotel could have used a good cleaning. If there had been another option, I would have left there for sure. I paid $115 for the one night in this place and it was not even close to being worth it. I know that it is a hotel that caters to businesspeople on a per diem and that those people get much better nightly rates than the average person. Even at a reduced rate, still not worth it. This was probably the worst hotel I've seen in several decades. When I checked out, I was going to remind them of the 100% satisfaction guarantee, but I was NOT asked how my stay was or even really acknowledged too much when I checked out. I was exhausted and had an extremely busy and stressful day ahead of me with five hours of driving and other family business, so I didn't have the energy to pursue it. The only good thing I can say is that housekeepers were cordial to me when I passed them in the hallways. Overall, a horrible stay at a time when I needed a nice, restful consistent stay. I will NEVER go back to this hotel. It should not even be in the Hilton family of hotels.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Road-trip-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, KY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff at this Hampton go out of their way to make your stay a good one. They are all so friendly and act like they really enjoy serving you. The breakfast varies each day and tastes like real food, not just 'round' eggs or pastries. I appreciate the way everyone is so willing to make sure you are satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

my stay at the hampton was very satifying , the staff was very helpful and efficient during check in and check out. the hotel was clean and the staff reporenish breakfast even with several softball teams staying at the hotel. Good job !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

After traveling several hours from south Florida my wife and I decided to stop in Columbia for the night. We looked ahead and found this Hampton Inn. It wasn't but just two days ago that I made a comment to my wife that I have never been disappointed in a Hampton Inn.
When we arrived we were greeted by a woman who was very nice, could not have asked for a better greeting. After getting our keys we began to walk down the hallway to the elevator and couldn't help but notice that the carpet in the hallways seemed as if they haven't been vacuumed in several days. There was dirt along the ceilings and about 60% of all the doors in the hallway were filthy.
When we arrived at our room there was a lamp shade that was desperately in need of being replaced, spots all over the end tables, hair in the bathtub, the tile leading into the room hadn't been swept. We thought about just staying and dealing with it for one night but after only five minutes decided that we were not going to spend the night and we went down to check out. I have never called customer service before on a hotel and haven't even thought of doing so with any Hilton hotel we have ever stayed in, needless to say I did just that. We checked into another Hampton just north of our previous location and couldn't be more pleased with not only the location compared to W. Columbia, but the hotel in general.
Again I appreciate the courtesy of the staff, but really would recommend working on the sterility, tidiness, and cleanness of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Access to the elevators in the middle of the hotel via narrow hotel hallways. Narrow space on the third floor from the elevator to the guest rooms made it difficult to get your luggage in and out of the hotel. Otherwise, the staff was very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappells, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

this was a very comfortable and clean hotel. loved the room décor, and lobby area was very inviting. My husband was having heart surgery at the Lexington Medical Center, and my room provided me with the comfort I needed at such a time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank gotigersinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia Airport
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Address: 1094 Chris Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a smooth landing into southern hospitality when you stay at the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport! Our beautiful 120 room property has been recently renovated, and is conveniently located near many area attractions. We are just minutes from the Columbia Airport, Downtown Columbia, Riverbanks Zoo & Gardens, shopping, restaurants, and more! Whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport is your one stop spot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Airport Hotel West Columbia
Hampton Inn West Columbia
West Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing